SHERLOCK HOLMES: First 3-Minute Preview For ELEMENTARY Released

SHERLOCK HOLMES: First 3-Minute Preview For ELEMENTARY Released

Hit the jump to check out the behind-the-scenes preview for a new television series called Elementary, which is another modern-day take on the popular character, starring Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu...


ELEMENTARY stars Jonny Lee Miller as detective Sherlock Holmes and Lucy Liu as Dr. Joan Watson in a modern-day drama about a crime-solving duo that cracks the NYPD’s most impossible cases. Following his fall from grace in London and a stint in rehab, eccentric Sherlock escapes to Manhattan where his wealthy father forces him to live with his worst nightmare – a sober companion, Dr. Watson. A successful surgeon until she lost a patient and her license three years ago, Watson views her current job as another opportunity to help people, as well as paying a penance. However, the restless Sherlock is nothing like her previous clients. He informs her that none of her expertise as an addiction specialist applies to him and he’s devised his own post-rehab regimen – resuming his work as a police consultant in New York City. Watson has no choice but to accompany her irascible new charge on his jobs. But Sherlock finds her medical background helpful, and Watson realizes she has a knack for playing investigator. Sherlock’s police contact, Capt. Tobias “Toby” Gregson (Aidan Quinn), knows from previous experience working with Scotland Yard that Sherlock is brilliant at closing cases, and welcomes him as part of the team. With the mischievous Sherlock Holmes now running free in New York solving crimes, it’s simple deduction that he’s going to need someone to keep him grounded, and it’s elementary that it’s a job for Watson. Rob Doherty, Sarah Timberman, Carl Beverly and Michael Cuesta, who directed the pilot, are executive producers for CBS Television Studios.



Elementary will air on Thursdays at 10 p.m. ET/PT on CBS, starting this Fall.

Posted By:
WolvieCBM
Member Since 2/9/2009
Filed Under "Action" 5/16/2012 Source: CBS
DISCLAIMER: This article was submitted by a volunteer contributor who has agreed to our code of conduct. ComicBookMovie.com is protected from liability under the Digital Millenium Copyright Act (DMCA) and "safe harbor" provisions. CBM will disable users who knowingly commit plagiarism, piracy, trademark or copyright infringement. Please contact us for expeditious removal of copyrighted/trademarked content. You may also learn more about our copyright and trademark policies HERE.
61 Comments
1 2
MovieMaster - 5/16/2012, 2:44 PM
This doesn't look too bad. Still not a scratch on BBC's Sherlock though.
TheProfessional - 5/16/2012, 2:46 PM
I'll check it out.
valeriesghost - 5/16/2012, 2:46 PM
meh. the BBC's is superior
comics2film - 5/16/2012, 2:47 PM
Agreed MovieMaster. I'll give it a watch and see how it goes. Make a change from watching "two broke girls" and "gossip girl" lmao
DoomXfactor - 5/16/2012, 2:48 PM
Can't Top SHERLOCK from the BBC
imnotahero - 5/16/2012, 2:49 PM
[frick] this show.
pintoman - 5/16/2012, 2:50 PM
Lucy is so hot.
MovieMaster - 5/16/2012, 2:51 PM
I think Lucy is [frick]ing ugly.
leopoldinio - 5/16/2012, 2:52 PM
BBC is so much better .
Knightrider - 5/16/2012, 2:52 PM
"The show is Sherlock Homes in Manhattan, in modes day" in other words "We have made a show with a quirky yet brilliant detective, who has a pretty side-kick, you know like Castle, Bones, Mentalist and the numerous others out there right now, but what we did to separate us from the rest, is leach of the recent success of the BBC series, and call our character Sherlock Homes too...Genius ay?"
Knightrider - 5/16/2012, 2:53 PM
modern*
soforizo - 5/16/2012, 2:54 PM
This sucks compare to BBC's Sherlock, but I'll probably still watch it.
RorMachine - 5/16/2012, 2:56 PM
It really doesn't look too bad at all, but, it's completely pointless when we have Sherlock..so, unlucky Elementary.
JakeDixon - 5/16/2012, 3:01 PM
Do the UK get this?
LucasMend - 5/16/2012, 3:02 PM
Doesn't look that good at all, looks bit of idiotic actually. Not interested, but will watch the pilot to see how bad turns out to be
DaenerysTargaryen - 5/16/2012, 3:03 PM
Benedict is better

JediRob - 5/16/2012, 3:03 PM
Lame. What a ridiculous cash grab.
Hellsing - 5/16/2012, 3:05 PM
Cumberbatch rocks the scarf better sorry Miller. But in all honesty it doesn't look bad.
Neno - 5/16/2012, 3:07 PM
This will fail HARD! shitty acting, female Watson... i will puke...
Gelfling - 5/16/2012, 3:09 PM
what a waste of time! terrible. its very patronising of their own people by remaking a show for the american public, dumbing it down and ruining it! alot of the best tv is american, we dont remake it!
TheAntiGrif - 5/16/2012, 3:26 PM
Love how @ 1:25 he does that kinda jaw thing RDJ does when he plays holmes. Its kinda a im piecing the puzzle together look. IDK but he seems a little close to RDJ's holmes but with Hugh Laurie's looks
ElBicho - 5/16/2012, 3:31 PM
Couldn't be worse even if Shia Lebouf was playing Watson...
shadyginzo - 5/16/2012, 3:35 PM
why are people so preocupied with complaining? surely it's more important to savour it before they cancel half way through the first season.

seriously, what I heap of aidsy dog shit.
Mrcool210 - 5/16/2012, 3:49 PM
isnt there already an anmerican version of sherlock holmes? called house?
Toasty - 5/16/2012, 3:51 PM
American's trying to steal a good show from the UK but make a shit job of it, what else is new.
GLprime2814 - 5/16/2012, 3:54 PM
BBC 4TEH W but will give it a look see.
SHHH - 5/16/2012, 3:55 PM
Dr. Joan Watson... Pass..
InfiniteMonkey - 5/16/2012, 3:55 PM
This is going to fail. Lucy Liu is hot but I'm sorry, there is already a Sherlock on BBC.
ronnie42 - 5/16/2012, 3:58 PM
Can someone remind me how this looks anything like Sherlock holmes?, BBc did a better job. Also I wouldn't even compare House to this since House is a lot better looking.
Zounds - 5/16/2012, 4:00 PM
"Joan Watson"!?!? Please...stop...the...madness...
CaptainObvious - 5/16/2012, 4:00 PM
Photobucket
musashi - 5/16/2012, 4:08 PM
BBC Sherlock is far superior. Dr Joan Watson? Hahaha Is this the Earth 2 version of Sherlock?
AC1 - 5/16/2012, 4:13 PM
That Johnny Lee Miller seems like a decent enough actor, but he ain't no Sherlock Holmes, and this show looks like complete dog's bollocks... dunked in shit...
AlexDeLarge87 - 5/16/2012, 4:14 PM
Yeah i think the BBC´s modern version is going to be superior.

Miller looks like he can pull off the role thou. Great Actor.

Best Holmes to me is still Jeremy Brett. Only actor who looks almost exactly like Holmes.
ManofSteel23 - 5/16/2012, 4:21 PM
gay
TheSoulEater - 5/16/2012, 4:21 PM
@AlexDelarge87

BRAVO!!! BRAVO!!! FINALLY SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS WHO THE TRUE SHERLOCK HOLMES ADAPTATION IS
metroILman - 5/16/2012, 4:37 PM
I'll give it a view. But I've gotta tell you, CBS, this American really likes Cumberbatch and Freeman.
Bluestreak - 5/16/2012, 4:39 PM
Looks awful awful awful
AlexDeLarge87 - 5/16/2012, 4:40 PM
TheSoulEater@ Thank you Sir. Im very flattered. :)

tea@ LOL! ;D Talking about noses and Aykroyd do you remember this.
AlexDeLarge87 - 5/16/2012, 4:49 PM
Brett didnt just play Holmes. He was Holmes. :)

He was so obsessed with the character that it nearly end up destroying his sanity.
Dude got serious mental problems.
1 2

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.