Negative Review No. 2 Emerges For THE AVENGERS

Negative Review No. 2 Emerges For THE AVENGERS

With one unpopular review recently making its way on the net for the film with huge backlash, check out this one from FanTheFireMagazine editor Sam Bathe.



The following is Sam Bathe's full review of The Avengers..........

The superhero movie to end all superhero movies, The Avengers is some five films in the making and the culmination of Marvel’s ambitious plan to bring a handful of their biggest names together on the silver screen.

To date the Avengers’ own films have been a mixed bag. Iron Man was the great success that kicked this whole thing off, with fans falling in love with Downey Jr.’s cocky Tony Stark and Jon Favreau’s glossy, bombastic visuals, but since then it’s been nearly all down hill. With the unsatisfactory taste of The Incredible Hulk still in our mouths, Iron Man 2 proved hollow fun two years later before another mixed bag in 2011. Captain America: The First Avenger’s WWII setting offered great potential though meant he had to be literally frozen into the modern day, final piece of the puzzle Thor, however, was our biggest worry for the overarching franchise. A languid, misdirected, badly written adventure, our negative review caused quite the uproar online, and I’m sorry fanboys, we hated this one too.

With scientist Erik Selvig (Skarsgård) performing purportedly secret experiments on an all-powerful object known as the Tesseract, S.H.I.E.L.D.’s defences are breached as controlled by Loki, he opens a portal to Asgard before they make off with the cube.

With an object of limitless power now in the hands of the most dangerous man on or off the planet, S.H.I.E.L.D. director Nick Fury (Jackson) is left with no option but to put together a ragtag team of superheroes to try and save our world from total and utter destruction.

Much of the talk surrounding The Avengers was how the crew and their stars would handle being on set together, sharing the limelight with so many other big names and egos, and not taking the lead in a franchise like they’re used to. But on the whole, they all perform well. Downey Jr. is slick as Iron Man/Tony Stark, packing a bunch of new toys on his suit and in a new home, Chris Evans is calm and collected as Captain America, Chris Hemsworth improves on his performance in Thor and Jeremy Renner, Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson and Cobie Smulders all provide able backing away from the fore. Mark Ruffalo struggles as the recast Bruce Banner(/Hulk) – his timid approach never really works – though let out on a much longer leash, a confident Tom Hiddleston shows real chops as the fearsome Loki, not the tallest in stature, but there’s real anger behind his eyes and he isn’t afraid to show it.

That people were worried about the actors bickering on-set was a massive red herring, in fact the thing that brings down The Avengers, is how their characters all interact on-screen.

In a movie where most of the characters have a film in their pockets, the on-screen identities have egos of their own too. It was right the Avengers shouldn’t gel right at once, but how that get-to-know-you period is played out in the script gets massively out of hand.

In each other’s faces non-stop, while disagreements very rarely came to blows, the constant tussle for control carries on and on, all at the narrative’s expense. The minute the movie starts to pick up any sort of momentum someone else butts in and we have to follow their train of thought for 30 seconds before they’re interrupted yet again. This isn’t the fault of the actors, they do of all what they’re asked, but Joss Whedon’s script is found severely lacking.

It’s a pity because elsewhere on the screenplay, the Buffy creator has done sterling work. If you enjoyed the snippets of comedy in the two Iron Mans to date, you’ll have a field day with the sense of humour on show here. A couple of Tourette’s-esque physical outbursts from Hulk and a scene where Stark mocks the “Shakespeare” dialogue of brothers Loki and Thor will have you in tears. Whedon handles the action set-pieces well too, the (very) extended closing face-off has you on the edge of your seat with CGI detail reminiscent of Transformers 3. It’s a pity that by then it never build up an emotional involvement and you won’t really care who comes out on top.

The Avengers isn’t terrible and fanboys will (at least tell you they) love it, but it’s all just so generic by now, just like just another whizz-bang Marvel superhero movie, it’s hard not to feel disappointed. Without any real gusto I struggled to be swept along, the film stuttering endlessly thanks to stop-start conversation until the action finally kicks in. Marvel better hope it makes a lot of money, because on a filmmaking level, they didn’t really succeed.

2/5 Stars


One thing that sticks out is his opinion on the character interactions, which the majority of others consider the movie's strong points and have praised the film for, but what do you guys think? Sound off below.

Source: Fan The Fire
Posted By:
SageMode
Member Since 8/17/2009
Filed Under "Avengers" 4/26/2012
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
44 Comments
1 2
Bucht - 4/26/2012, 5:28 AM
Sounds like this guy really holds a grudge against Marvel...

Anyway, whatever he may think, I'm sure that everyone who only remotely likes CBMs will love the Avengers.
And Marvel fans will be grinning from start to finish just thinking "this is really happening".
At least that's how it was when I watched it.
bellEND - 4/26/2012, 5:31 AM
Without any real Gusto? Like that old bloke that comments? This makes no sense..

But in all seriousness, I saw this last night in Sydney, the movie is great fun, I don't remember having that much fun in a cinema in a long time and I don't even follow the comics. So if you're an avid comic fan, I promise you will LOVE this!
AlSimmons - 4/26/2012, 5:31 AM
He gave Green Lantern a good review...
Greengo - 4/26/2012, 5:33 AM
I agree with some of what he said regarding TIH CATFA & IRON MAN 2.

Ain't seen Avengers yet but I'm not too worried
Greengo - 4/26/2012, 5:33 AM
Didn't Thor come out before CATFA??
Greengo - 4/26/2012, 5:35 AM
Mrcool210 - 4/26/2012, 5:37 AM
wait he says they all dont get the time they deserve? every other reviewer says they have. I CALL BULLSHIT
Hulkson - 4/26/2012, 5:40 AM
This just reads like a intended trolling! He talks bad about IM2 and they gave it a 4,5. So, this is just a really bad review and this guy can not be titled as a critic. Most of his sentences does not make sense and it seems he just wanted to get some of the fame and traffic for his site.

They headlined this on facebook with "Let the backlash begin". I don't take this serious, first of all because he pours down Ruffalos acting while everyone else praises his performance!
HulkbusterNYC - 4/26/2012, 5:41 AM
@AlSimmons I'm not surprised.. I just googled this guy and he seems like a real douche.. His reviews and his magazine purposely try to "fan the flames".. Of course not everyone will like this movie and each person is entitled to their opinion.. Anyone who liked Green Lantern really shouldn't be allowed to critique films.. Thats MY opinion.. He should stick to watching romantic comedies with his pals.. Loser! One more week for me here in NYC!!
Hulkson - 4/26/2012, 5:41 AM
@ Tea

Hells yeah, like 5h and 20 Minutes! :D I think I need something to get my nerves down. You got something for that doc? :D
kevberg - 4/26/2012, 5:43 AM
To each his own..But the Snarky attitude of the reviewer just says assclown.
MerkinMan - 4/26/2012, 5:44 AM
As an old school X-Men comic book fan, I welcome random drama to break up the action...

Adittedly I've had qualms with previous CBM's, from miscasting to lack of continuity, but in most cases I've been able to find qualities with in them to find some level of enjoyment.

So I'm cool with any nitpicking anyone has to offer...it will not ditract from my passion re: CBM's generally. I'm just stoked they're being made at all!

Rant offically over

Spidey91 - 4/26/2012, 5:44 AM
He's condescending to people who like comic books.
he says "fanboys will love it",as if saying "fanboys will like it because they know sh*t about movies,unlike me,because I'm a professional critic for RT".
f*ck this guy and his progenie.
Benjamitesandwich - 4/26/2012, 5:51 AM
Did he just say all the actors had major egos while Joss Whedon said they didn't have egos?

I think this guy is one who likes to go against the popular opinion . . . much like Armon White.
MerkinMan - 4/26/2012, 5:51 AM
*Admittedly* oops
Spidey91 - 4/26/2012, 5:55 AM
he gave TF2 a positive review,f*cking TF2! 3 out of 5!
MerkinMan - 4/26/2012, 6:11 AM
@ Nomis

Well said!
MisterJay - 4/26/2012, 6:12 AM
thats what happend when you give a Nolanite the power of review a marvel movie :P hahaha cmon ... a good review 4 green lantern= 0 credibility

Iceman01 - 4/26/2012, 6:19 AM
I'm sharpening my pitch fork ready to kick some pretentious ass
ElBicho - 4/26/2012, 6:34 AM
What a pretentious, dick gobbling hack!

Just some hater, trying to make a name for his shitty website and shittier magazine.

Go watch Juno again and whack off, you douche.
thalidomide - 4/26/2012, 6:36 AM
@tea:

I will be waiting for your review remember to put boob breaks :P
incredibleTalk - 4/26/2012, 7:21 AM
I don't have a problem with his ignorant review or his ass crack attitude about 'fanboys" loving it or his dick breathe comment about Ruffalo..I don't like the name Sam or the fact that he saw the movie before me....shit for brains get all the luck!!!!
AlexdoxA - 4/26/2012, 7:22 AM
Somebody wants their fifteen minutes....
LMB10 - 4/26/2012, 7:34 AM
To be honest, I don't see why we have to highlight any bad review for a film. There have been loads of positive ones, you don't see those in the news section. Same with The Amazing Spider-Man and The Dark Knight Rises, unless they are generally seen as terrible films, any one bad review will be highlighted on the site, while the good only get one article.
Ha1frican - 4/26/2012, 7:44 AM
Lost all credibility when he bashed TIH... what an idiot
ROBBEATZZZ - 4/26/2012, 8:11 AM
HE CLEARLY DOESNT KNOW WHAT HES TALKING ABOUT..IMMEAN CAP AMERICA CAME LAST..

NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH TIH..GREAT MOVIE..JUST DIDNT DO WELL @ THE BOX OFFICE..

IT HIS OPINION..I UNDERSTAND THAT..BUT MY REVIEW AND OPINION OF HIS OPINION..ID SAY IT SUCKS!! BABOON ARSE!..LOL
neonhero - 4/26/2012, 8:20 AM
@Ha1frican - I agree. Incredible Hulk was a good movie, truly entertaining I thought. From his review he doesn't seem to care for Marvel movies in general. To each their own, but most of the movie going public liked them, and Avengers looks to be a great summer movie.
superotherside - 4/26/2012, 8:22 AM
He doesn't know what he's talking about. LOL. Sorry he didn't like it but if he didn't like the other movies, then I'll probably like this one because I liked them, so I'll most likely like this one.
vxMaverickxv - 4/26/2012, 8:46 AM
KILL HIM! STRING HIM UP BY HIS TOES!

but in all seriousness this guy could've given it a 0/5 and said the movie was total sh*t and i'm still going to see it and love it. so there.
vxMaverickxv - 4/26/2012, 8:49 AM
What a second...he gives a positive review to Green Lantern and a negative to Avengers?

all i have to say to that is Hot Wheels Car Track.
clogan - 4/26/2012, 9:30 AM
There will be more bad reviews people. Every movie has a certain portion of bad reviews, it's unavoidable.
CraptainAmerica - 4/26/2012, 10:12 AM
I got out of seeing this 2 hours ago and I can confirm all of the above...

...is utter bollocks. To call it "generic" is so very misplaced you wouldn't believe.

Any short comings may become clearer when I watch it again and again. But the story and interweaving with the first five solo movies is so cleverly done. The humour is very prominent but never detached you from the magnitude of the tasks they all face.

Any opinion to the contrary, discounting my bias of course, is laughable.

Don't go in to this movies with the opinion of this review in your head. I just feel sad that somebody has to put a dampner of a brilliant piece of filmmaking to gather interest in their own below par writing. They can miss the bandwagon if they wish but they are missing one hell of a ride (like Johannsson is by not riding me).

The positives in this review doesnt warrent the score. The only thing that will become "generic" is
Knightrider - 4/26/2012, 12:03 PM
The fact is you can't please everyone, one persons will like something another won't so a bad review here and there is to be expected. We can't have a go at this person for having an opinion we can't just listen and accept good reviews because they make us happy. I personally don't care about his review or any other for that matter I indebd to watch the film and form my own view about it.
Gerrit - 4/26/2012, 1:25 PM
There will be more bad reviews... because some people are jealous! Some critics hate the idea of a shared universe so they just bash every Marvel Studios movie.
Knightrider - 4/26/2012, 1:31 PM
@Gerrit I don't think you can call it jealous I dislike (with a passion I might add) the twilight saga, but I certainly am not jealous of it. You will never make a movie that appeals to everyone, it just really is that simple.
MrDuck - 4/26/2012, 3:17 PM
I only have one thing to say
GO [frick] A GOAT!
Phlegmbot - 4/26/2012, 3:36 PM
I agree w/others above. It sounds like he's just not a fan of superhero films. There were huge weaknesses in IM2 and Thor, but they were still both fun movies.

He seemed to be looking for an emotional connection in this film, and I understand that, but I'm guessing this movie's "emotional connect" is simply a group of ppl forced to work together and then having to figure out how.

Perhaps future Avengers installments will give characters more to lose/gain from whatever villain they face. This one's just about getting the gang together. And it sounds like, in that respect, it succeeds.

I used to do film reviews. I hate when critics judge a film on what THEY want it to be as opposed to what it's TRYING to be.
dmadtroll - 4/26/2012, 3:43 PM
so what now. you're giving it all to troll the biggest MARVEL movie eh? every f'n review says every friggin'character had their moments. so suck it!

i've watched the movie and i think the last action is a lot more better than TF3 dark of the moon's final battle. xD
mgeoff88 - 4/26/2012, 5:27 PM
I personally really enjoyed CA: TFA(my favorite CBM of 2011) and Thor.

So I don't trust his opinion all that much.
He seems like one of those critics that purposely goes against everyone else.

The thing is, no matter how a great a movie is. Some people will give it bad reviews.
DioFoRio - 4/26/2012, 5:50 PM
the site is called Fan The Fire.....whuddjuh expect?
1 2

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.