REVIEW: The Green Hornet

REVIEW: <i>The Green Hornet</i>

My spoiler free review for The Green Hornet starring Seth Rogen and Jay Chou

Synopsis:

Britt Reid (Seth Rogen) is the son of LA's most prominent and respected media magnate and perfectly happy to maintain a directionless existence on the party scene – until his father (Tom Wilkinson) mysteriously dies, leaving Britt his vast media empire. Striking an unlikely friendship with one of his father's more industrious and inventive employees, Kato (Jay Chou), they see their chance to do something meaningful for the first time in their lives: fight crime. But in order to do this, they decide to become criminals themselves – protecting the law by breaking it, Britt becomes the vigilante The Green Hornet as he and Kato hit the streets.

Using all his ingenuity and skill, Kato builds the ultimate in advanced retro weaponry, The Black Beauty, an indestructible car equal parts firepower and horsepower. Rolling in a mobile fortress on wheels and striking the bad guys with Kato's clever gadgets, The Green Hornet and Kato quickly start making a name for themselves, and with the help of Britt's new secretary, Lenore Case (Cameron Diaz), they begin hunting down the man who controls LA's gritty underworld: Benjamin Chudnofsky (Christoph Waltz). But Chudnofsky has plans of his own: to swat down The Green Hornet once and for all.


Review:

I will start off by saying that when it comes to The Green Hornet I have read very few comics and watched very few episodes of the show. I will admit being more familiar with any source might have changed my opinion on the movie. So with that out of the way I present to you my review.

When first cast some fans were(and still are) left with a sour taste in their mouth, I mean would you really think Seth Rogen is the Green Hornet? The answer for most is probably no. At first Rogen plays very much that same character, but we see a progression into a hero. Rogen plays a character that doesn't jump right into becoming a skilled hero, he and his partner Kato struggle to mature into the epic crime fighting duo we know they will become. This maturity as a hero also helps Britt Reid run his fathers news paper.

Kato on the other hand is an entertaining character who out skills the Hornet in everything. Kato is not only the creative genius of the duo, he is also the skilled fighter, leaving the title hero without a true place in the pair. Kato is a character that hates the fact that even though he is better in every way, The Green Hornet still gets the attention.

The thing the Hornet and Kato have in common is a dislike of James Reid played by Tom Wilkinson. The Hornet dislikes him for ignoring him as a child, something that defines who he is as an adult. Kato on the other hand dislikes him for being a mean boss. This dislike bonds the two and ends up becoming the reason they protect crime by committing crime to disguise from crime lords that they are good guys.

The films main villain Benjamin Chudnofsky is played by the Oscar winning villain of Inglorious Bastards, Christoph Waltz. Chudnofsky is LA's most prominent crime boss with an aim to control all the crime in the city. After being made fun of for not being scary enough by a nightclub manager(played by a surprise guest), Chudnofsky goes through out the entire movie trying to prove he is still scary. When The Green Hornet and Kato start screwing with his turf Chudnofsky goes after them. Chudnofsky is a recklessly crazy and funny character played great by Waltz, who once again steals any scene that has him in the movie.

Lenore Case is the secretary of the Britt Reid Cameron Diaz. She uses her knowledge of past crimes to unknowingly help the Hornet and Kato plan their next move or predict their enemies. Diaz haters(and I know there are plenty of you) it might ease your pain to know she doesn't have all that much screen time. She still plays a pivotal role without much time and the story doesn't stray away from the Green Hornet and Kato.

My final verdict would be that The Green Hornet is a fun superhero flick that may not be for everyone. Yes it is different from the series from 1966, but it does not ignore those routes so keep your eyes and ears peeled for homages. So for fans of the character it may not be for you but if your looking for some good entertainment, humor, and great action sequences The Green Hornet is the way to go. The only thing that truly depressed me was that originally Green Hornet is the Great Great Nephew of The Lone Ranger, which was left out due to different studios owning the rights to each character. Again hardcore fans may not like it but I think it is great for the average movie goer. 3.5 out of 5 stars.



The Green Hornet hits theaters January 14, 2011. Also as a thanks for the tickets check out my uncle's review http://t.co/oGBQEPf
Posted By:
bleedthefreak
Member Since 3/4/2009
Filed Under "Green Hornet" 12/21/2010
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
22 Comments
bleedthefreak - 12/21/2010, 2:07 PM
:)
TheLoisLane - 12/21/2010, 2:13 PM
Thanks for the review! I can't wait to see this in January! :D
marvel72 - 12/21/2010, 2:42 PM
wait for it to be shown on t.v.
LEEE777 - 12/21/2010, 2:47 PM
Screw the TV series, I wanna know if its different to the actual comic book???

Nice review btw, gives some hope its actually worth watching!

Cool @ BLEED, an thumbs up!

Hey talking Green Hornet, check out Red Hornet... : P

CLICK CLICK =

SPEED FORCE CASTING!

(THE FLASH)



Sachertorte - 12/21/2010, 3:25 PM
It is good to hear about the movie having a lot of promise. After the troubled production, the good reviews are very heartening, especially for Christoph Waltz who has to prove himself as not a one-trick pony. Thank you for the review!

www.ChristophWaltzFans.com
Ibz - 12/21/2010, 3:36 PM
great review dude, your lucky to see it so early, i will definitely check it out.

check out my tron legacy review http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/ibz/news/?a=26767
GinGuilt - 12/21/2010, 3:48 PM
nice to see it isn't that big failure we were expecting.
superdog - 12/21/2010, 5:46 PM
nice review man. the general feeling out there among early screeners is that its actually pretty good. i think it will surprise most viewers who are open to this and havent out right dismissed it cause of there negative outlook on life (im talking to you deadpool)
Murraymaker - 12/21/2010, 7:37 PM
longer link for Bleed's uncle's review: http://www.examiner.com/movie-in-boston/the-green-hornet-strikes-early
happyciel - 12/21/2010, 7:39 PM
I wanna see it!
TheLoisLane - 12/21/2010, 9:37 PM
@ralph Actually, the word of mouth coming out of the screenings across the country have been OVERWHELMINGLY positive. There has only been one bad review from one of the bigger sites (JoBlo).

And, judging by Twitter, there's about one bad comment about the pre-screenings for every 50 posts.
sweetre15 - 12/22/2010, 12:33 AM
@LEE777: You do know that GH started out as a radio drama series originally right?
Bigbywolf - 12/22/2010, 6:46 AM
Nice review. I had high hopes that Jay Chou and Christoph Waltz would be good in this and I'm glad to hear they have been impressive. Waltz was such a joy to watch in Inglorious Basterds.
marvel72 - 12/22/2010, 7:49 AM
@ superdog

seth rogan in my eyes is not the right choice for the green hornet.

i said i would watch it when its shown on tv,whats negative about that.

at least on tv its free & i can change the channel if its shit.
Ranger14 - 12/22/2010, 8:43 AM
Hmmm...I don't know. I have read a number of reviews that it is Rogen being Rogen and some people that I know saw it felt that way. In the trailer alone there is just too much dorkiness for me as a casual fan of the source material.

CinemaBlend said, "Like any good Rogen and Goldberg movie The Green Hornet is best viewed as a platonic buddy romance, and the scenes between Britt and Kato as they play with their high-tech toys or even deal with their own issues of jealousy are the best parts of the film by far. The problem with the movie is in the writing about everything else, particularly the big evil bad guy plot that drives the second half of the film."

Christuffer - 12/22/2010, 9:16 AM
There's just too much testosterone and opinions mixed up in the relationship between comic books and their movies.

I've never refused to see a movie like this because the trailer didn't sparkle my eyes like it was from God's own private collection. We saw the movie anyway, and liked it, and if we didn't see it it was because we didn't have the money so we waited for the DVD.
But I didn't come on this site to bash everything. Damn thats annoying guys
SFCamerica - 12/22/2010, 10:21 AM
Are there seriously any "hardcore" Green Hornet fans?? That seems weird to me with all the great comics/heroes out there.

Personally, I will be seeing this movie. Mainly because it is the kickoff to 2011, greatest CBM year in history! I'm sure this moving will be enjoyable simply because I find Seth Rogen entertaining and Waltz isn't so bad either ;)

Fortunately for me I'm easily pleased! If I had to go through life hating everything because it didn't meet certain expectations I would have probably jumped off a building by now. And yes, I am referring to some of you!
Ranger14 - 12/22/2010, 11:08 AM
Some of us grew up with the television series. To see Britt Reid being played as a dork is somewhat of a slap in the face. Rogen is as far from what Reid should be as you can get. If some of you don't get that...so be it. This is a site to state opinions on CBMs, whether they are positive or negative opinions. I am actually one who is fairly easy to please, but as soon as I heard Rogen was going to play the part of the Green Hornet, I knew this one wouldn't be for me. I still don't get that casting decision.
Bandrews1 - 12/22/2010, 1:49 PM
Awesome.
FutureCBMHero - 12/22/2010, 7:53 PM
If you want to see Christoph Waltz perform again, wait for Water for Elephants...I'll say he gets another Academy nom for that.


3.5 stars is awfully generous for something you really said very few good things about.

-Kato on the other hand is an entertaining character

-Chudnofsky is a recklessly crazy and funny character played great by Waltz, who once again steals any scene that has him in the movie.

- but if your looking for some good entertainment, humor, and great action sequences The Green Hornet is the way to go.

Yes, that sounds like this movie that has unlimited potential! 90% of your article is a summary, rather than a real review. Seriously people, save your money.
MovieTheaterLad - 12/22/2010, 9:42 PM
I've heard this movie being compared to Big Trouble in Little China.

If that's any indication, I'm very excited for this.
UncleDrew - 12/26/2010, 9:33 PM
I'm still iffy with this movie but hopefully it at least gets a 70% on Rotten Tomatoes because I trust what the critics say.

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.