GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY 17 Minute Preview Reaction And Footage Description

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY 17 Minute Preview Reaction And Footage Description

If you had doubts about Guardians of the Galaxy, there's a strong chance that if you caught the 17 minute 3D IMAX preview, those doubts were safely put to rest. This will be the definite 2014 summer movie. Spoilers within.

Going into the 17 minute 3D IMAX preview of Guardians of the Galaxy, I definitely had my fair share of doubts. I loved Super and Slither but how do those films prepare James Gunn for the $100 million dollar Guardians of the Galaxy? Sure, Chris Pratt made a phenomenal physical transformation for the role of Star-Lord but that doesn't guarantee a strong on-screen presence.  How would Rocket Raccoon and Groot look on-screen? Would Drax have any depth beyond being the strongman of the group?  I had all these questions and more but if what was shown in today's previewis merely the tip of the iceberg, consider me 175% sold on Guardians of the Galaxy.  Gunn, Pratt, Zoe Saldana and co. have produced a Marvel film that looks, sounds or feels nothing like any Marvel film that's come before.  Our other 2014 Marvel movie, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, definitely raised the bar and Guardians of the Galaxy, albeit a very different film, appears to be that same class of high-level execution and craftsmanship.  It's going to blow the doors off the Marvel Cinematic Universe and definitely clue the general audience into the fact that there's much more going on in the MCU than what occurs on Asgard or on Earth.

The footage we were presented started with the Usual Suspects -esque line-up scene that I'm sure everyone is familiar with by now.  However, the IMAX 3D enhancements made this scene much more interesting and fresh as the 3D nicely supplements the actions of each character as they get their introduction from 's Rhomann Dey.  We are then transported to the intergalactic prison called The Kyln where the Guardians are given a scrubdown and jump suits.  We never learn why they were arrested by the Nova Corps, but we do learn that Rocket and Groot are bounty hunters and that they were after the bounty on Star-Lord.  It looks as if prison is where Drax joins the group (not 100% sure on this) as he recognizes Gamora and her connection to Ronan the Accusser.  Drax apparently makes a deal with Star-Lord to be kept close to Gamora until he leads her to Ronan. The Guardians don't remain in prison for long, thanks to the technological savy of Rocket.  He's able to quickly survey surrounding materials and equipment and engineer an escape plan for the Guardians.  Drax, Groot and Gamora display their physcial prowess as they subdue inmates and guards alike, buying time for Rocket to execute his plan.   There are a lot of jokes and humor I'm leaving out of the escape simply because you'll need to see it to make sense of the plan Rocket concocts.  We then segue into an extended montage that provides glimpses of 's Yondu, 's Thanos, 's Ronan the Accuser, Knowhere, 's The Collector and more.



Cast First Impressions
Peter Quill aka Star-Lord: Wise-ass who appears to always be out of his depth yet somehow, always manages to escape from harm.

Rocket Raccoon: Technincal savant, quick with sarcastic one-liners.  The relationship between he and Star-Lord appears to be a central component of the film. 

Groot:  Slow, size-changing enforcer that watches over Rocket and Quill.  Expect to  hear lots and lots of "I AM GROOT" throughout the film.

Drax:  We don't learn a whole lot about him in the preview, but he displays strength somewhere between the range of Captain America and Thor.  He's definitely not in Hulk's weight class.  We also learn that his race is quite literal and is one that does not understand the concept of metaphors, humor, etc. In short, he takes everything people say at face value and is incapable of understanding if there's a hidden or double meaning.  Obviously, with sarcastic pranksters like Quill and Rocket around, you can expect him to be the butt of many jokes.

Gamora:  Apparently, she (and Nebula) are on loan to Ronan from Thanos. She implies that her mission is to retrieve an Infinity Gem, however, we learn that she planned to betray Ronan and deliver the Infinity Gem to a third-party.  Is that third-party Thanos or someone else? - we don't learn who in the preview.  Ability wise, she's very agile and appears to be on par with Captain America in terms of strength and speed.
Posted By:
Mark Julian
Member Since 6/8/2011
Filed Under "Guardians of the Galaxy" 7/7/2014
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
94 Comments
1 2 3
MarvelFan15 - 7/7/2014, 6:29 PM
@JamesGunn Hey, James. You wanna hear my reaction to the 17-minute sneak peek of Guardians of the Galaxy in IMAX 3D? LISTEN UP. I just saw the 17 minute IMAX 3D Guardians of the Galaxy sneak peek. And, here's what I think: SO MOTHER F**KING, WELL-DONE, STUPENDOUSLY, FANTASTICALLY, AWESOME! Here's what I saw:
It was a fully-finished first-look. It starts off with the rap sheet line-up with Drax going first, Gamora then is next we see Thanos's head in her rap sheet, the confirmation she is Thanos's daughter and the word that Thanos and Ronan are working together. Rocket is next as we hear his real name "Subject 89P13" come up and his illegal manipulated experiment story come up, he spits on the floor. Then, Groot dips down in his cute pose. Then, Peter Quill, or as we should call him, Star-Lord, comes up and gives Rhomann Dey and his lieutenant the finger and it's not censored. Dey's lieutenant orders them to the Kyln. We see the Kyln and it's a giant space asylum with meteors guarding it. As Quill, Gamora, and Rocket and Groot head to their cells, they talk about the orb, Gamora's true job, Groot's actual words, and why you should never call Rocket a raccoon. Then we see Quill get tazzered when he angrily wants his Walkman back and gets sprayed with orange liquid same as Rocket. On Rocket's back, we see hole-looking mechanics, which pretty much sum up his backstory. Then, as they head to the prison hall, Quill and Gamora are threatened so Groot and Rocket save their backs. Rocket devises a plan which Groot pretty much does when he's not looking. Then, the big stuff ensues, Drax beating up guards, Nova Corps joining the fight, Roxket and Groot in a gun-toting joyride, Quill stealing a mechanical leg, and Rocket and Groot stealing the scene. They, have the watch tower be their transport and Drax is insulted by Quill and Rocket and snaps back quite hilariously. They almost escape but they get stuck and that's when it ends. So, we'll find out what happens when the movie comes out. Now, it cuts to the big footage bits from the movie: The Dark Aster, Ronan, Nebula, Yondu, which people will love, we see our first brief glimpse of Thanos as we see him on his throne backside, unseen, we see his golden arm wrists as Ronan kneels before him, we see the power of the orb, the attack on Knowhere, the battle of Xandar, the Guardians get in their uniforms ready to kick ass, and at the end we see Rocket and Quill discussing their plan which leads to an argument causing Groot to end it by nibbling a leaf on his shoulder which pretty much grosses out everyone even Quill and Gamora and the very last scene made me happy: Rocket in his Warbird on Knowhere battling two of Ronan's Necrocraft ships ending with an explosion destroying both ships and out of the fire comes a rocket screaming in his ship as he flies toward the screen and ending with 8-1-14. And, the response, an exciting, up roaring, applause. I instantly screamed after it "Marvel's next billion dollar hit, baby! YEAH! WOOO!" And, it was fantastic. And, I have faith and hope that will break a billion worldwide.
And, even I brought that up to a young boy that Guardians looks like it'll be Marvel's next billion dollar hit. His response: "It looks so amazing. Yeah. There's no doubt that it will." And, that makes another one who agrees with me. I also touched upon Thanos in the movie after he appeared in Avengers, and he even agreed with what else I said that we are definitely building up to a Thanos-centric thing, which I immediately responded with "Avengers 3 with Thanos and the Infinity Gauntlet and the Avengers and Guardians teaming up to stop Thanos". And, he said "Yeah. That will be awesome." Then, I let him go. But, my last thing I did was when I left, I immediately responded to a man's question. His question was didn't they already cast Thanos? And, I responed with "Yes. And Thanos will be voiced by Josh Brolin." And, that was it. but,as I was leaving with my mom, I ask so heard this man talk about Death, Thanos's love, showing up in the movie, which she will. So, after this, all I have to say is: Guardians really does look like it will be Marvel's next billion dollar hit. And, when August 1st arrives, we better have Guardians beat Avengers opening weeknd gross by $3 million dollars for a $210 million dollar opening weekend, because after I saw the 17-minute sneak peek, I think that if any Marvel movie will be a billion dollar hit after Avengers and Iron Man 3, it's Guardians of the Galaxy. So, c'mon, guys. let's make Guardians WIN.

Oh and one more thing. As Rocket Raccoon says, "We're the frickin Guardians of the Galaxy." And he ain't jokin'.
EpitomeofAwesome - 7/7/2014, 6:31 PM
I went, and it was so freaking amazing. Rocket and Groot were definitely the fan favorites of the crowd
SuperCat - 7/7/2014, 6:31 PM
Haven't seen the preview but I never had any doubts.
EpitomeofAwesome - 7/7/2014, 6:32 PM
@MarvelFan

These things are all true
Phronesis - 7/7/2014, 6:34 PM
Sounds actually really cool.
Jollem - 7/7/2014, 6:34 PM
hope it's good. i might catch a matinee, 'cause i won't make it to the midnight
MarvelFan15 - 7/7/2014, 6:35 PM
I'm glad you agree with me, @Phronesis. BTW, my screening was in Paramus, NJ.
Jollem - 7/7/2014, 6:35 PM
how does this compare to t4? is it as good as t4?
ManThing - 7/7/2014, 6:36 PM
Excellent!! MAN this is going to be a tough wait.
BugzN7 - 7/7/2014, 6:36 PM
Captain America was better than all previous Super Hero movies, Guardians of the Galaxy will top that.
MarvelFan15 - 7/7/2014, 6:36 PM
It's even awesomer and more better than T4, @Jollem.
Phronesis - 7/7/2014, 6:37 PM
Groot sounds really cool. I love him as a character. One of marvels most complex yet simple characters.
TheAbomination - 7/7/2014, 6:39 PM
Sounds groovy. Can you describe what the sexy Mad Titan looked like? Anything like the Avengers?
MarkJulian - 7/7/2014, 6:40 PM
@AlexanderLykins There's a blink-and-you-missed-it shot of Ronan kneeling before Thanos on his throne that we glimpsed in The Avengers.
MarkJulian - 7/7/2014, 6:40 PM
Thanos had his back turned, could only see his arms and hands.
Jollem - 7/7/2014, 6:41 PM
@MarvelFan15 - nice. did you see both movies?
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 6:41 PM
@jollem - jollem, jollem,
whatcha gonna do?
whatcha gonna do when they come for you?

jollem, jollem,
whatcha gonna do?

:0)
Jollem - 7/7/2014, 6:41 PM
ronan's giving thanos a whistle job? o.O
AlexanderLykins - 7/7/2014, 6:43 PM
@MarkJulian
Thanks man!
FightAs0ne - 7/7/2014, 6:44 PM
Hey is this a new trailer?
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 6:45 PM
this sounds like there's more heist movie stuff going on than it seemed to me. which might be cool. I'm hoping Sinister Six is something like that, something coming from heist movie territory. that could be great when you think of Spidey's villains.
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 6:45 PM
Thanos has had it in the ear before,
i don't think a whistle is gonna phase him much.
MrCamw1 - 7/7/2014, 6:46 PM
If they do get a sequel going, I'm curious if they will get James Gunn to return as they did the Russo brothers for Cap 2?
SwagInScience - 7/7/2014, 6:48 PM
I named my dog Groot (Shepherd mix) too bad I can't take him with me.
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 6:51 PM
@MrCamw1 - yeah, definitely they will. he'd be 100% down and if he made thias one work, Marvel would stick with it.
l0rdleg0las - 7/7/2014, 6:54 PM
Just from the sneak peaks and trailers, I would have thought this movie cost a hell of a lot more than 100 million to make. That is an incredible job by Gunn and Crew to make this movie look like it cost a lot more than it did to make.

I know a lot of people outside the comic community are skeptical about the amount of money this can make. But I think its new and different look will work in it's favor. You already have the Marvel fans who will go see it for that reason alone. You have comic fans who are familiar with the property who will want to see it. You have Rocket and Groot who are definite interest builders for the kids. And it is a fun looking movie. This could seriously make a good amount of coin.
MrCamw1 - 7/7/2014, 6:54 PM
@dethpillow That's all I needed to here. Thanks
Jollem - 7/7/2014, 6:54 PM
@dethpillow - when they come for me, i'll just do like this guy does



instead of chanting "imhotep", i'll chant the name of a certain studio. i'll blend right in ;D
NovaCorpsFan - 7/7/2014, 7:00 PM
That new trailer. I just came.
Demongod20 - 7/7/2014, 7:03 PM
@ MrCamw1

If it successful and the audience reacts to it well, I'm sure they will hold on to him like they did Whedon and the Russo’s.
Nomadic1 - 7/7/2014, 7:04 PM
New trailer is awesome. Cant wait.
MericawithanM - 7/7/2014, 7:04 PM
so...hard..... to avoid..... spoilers..... wait for this movie is killing me.....





MericawithanM - 7/7/2014, 7:06 PM
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 7:10 PM
@Jollem - hahaha. good to know, sometimes i worry about u at night.
:P
right on.
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 7:13 PM
@l0rdleg0las - what are u talkin about? $100 million to make?
no way... this is way more like $200 million. i think once i heard it was really close to $200 million, if not that.

Marvel put a lot into this movie, it means a lot to them. this is the way to introduce a huge ton of shit for them. hung on the raw maidenform of this franchise.

$100 million, no [frick]in way. did someone here say that?
GeekyCheekyChic - 7/7/2014, 7:20 PM
SO F*ING AWESOME
LensmanMatt92 - 7/7/2014, 7:21 PM
Finally we hear Ronan talking.
Beaner8127 - 7/7/2014, 7:24 PM
Amazing footage. I teared up when Rocket jumped on Groot and shot everything. Also went half mast at the sight of Thanos.
ComicsBornAndBred - 7/7/2014, 7:29 PM
The wait is pure agony
dethpillow - 7/7/2014, 7:32 PM
@l0rdleg0las - i just read my post and it comes like i'm jumping on your back about it, but i didn't mean it like that. i wish it cost less to make these movies, cuz then they could stretch out more, it wouldn't be such a big hump to make your money back and maybe we could see some more experiments and anti-blockbuster, anti-action movie type films that still had characters that needed a lot of CGI. it's getting cheaper tho.

i saw this thing where Trank was speaking at the keynote of this company whose stuff he was using. and they used cloudbased rendering, where you could be anywhere and access their servers for CGI. they used them for Life of Pi, the tiger and all that stuff. but that's one thing that people aren't paying attention to when they talk about the new FF and "found footage" and things.
Trank's not a dummy and i think he's actually a person that can really stretch a dollar, so maybe we'll be surprised. but i would love if they could make movies that look like this for $100 million, for sure, and i didn't mean to come off like i was hassling you about anything.
1 2 3

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.