Mr Sunday Reviews GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY

Mr Sunday Reviews GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY

Guardians Of The Galaxy jets into cinemas as of today with comic book fans having every reason to get excited about the latest Marvel offering. Hit the jump to find out Mr Sunday's review for the freshest MCU outing (despite some minor flaws) since the original Iron Man.



Critics are calling Guardians Of The Galaxy one of the best Marvel movies as of so far and with good reason. It's exciting, action packed and just a good time all round even. Check out the embedded video below for Mr Sunday's thoughts on GOTG and be sure to share your own opinions in the comments and to subscribe to Mr Sunday's new channel, youtube.com/mrsundaymovies.
 

If you liked this, check out the official Comic Book Movie Podcast The Weekly Planet below, the latest episode of which looks at the biggest reveals from San Diego Comic Con 2014. Subscribe to it on iTunes or download it directly here.
 
Posted By:
MrSundayMovies
Member Since 6/20/2011
Filed Under "Guardians of the Galaxy" 8/1/2014 Source: youtube.com/mrsundaymovies
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
88 Comments
1 2 3
Pasto - 8/1/2014, 5:57 AM
I'm so excite.
MightyZeus - 8/1/2014, 5:59 AM
I'm so excite too.
MrCBM56 - 8/1/2014, 7:52 AM
I loved it. Seeing it again soon.
Nomis - 8/1/2014, 7:55 AM
Wasn't exactly my "cup of tea".

For more fuller details as to why it was not, please see my review in the reviews section.
TyrantBossMedia - 8/1/2014, 7:55 AM
Sometimes you have to give a relatively unknown director with vision a chance to spread his wings.
NovaCorpsFan - 8/1/2014, 7:56 AM
I too wasn't a fan of what they did to Ronan in the movie. Nebula was cool and I'm looking forward to seeing more of her.
CaptShipwreck - 8/1/2014, 7:56 AM
It's [frick]ing great , I didn't know I would love the movie so much, all the hype it's getting is Not enough in my opinion ..
ALmazing - 8/1/2014, 7:57 AM
Cap and Guardians saved Phase 2, here is how I rank them:

1. CA:WS
2. GotG
3. TTDW
4. IM3

I am really hoping that AoU can top Cap or Guardians.
yossarian - 8/1/2014, 7:57 AM
I can't wait until this and TWS hits Blu-Ray so people can watch that to the point of boredom and then bitch about them here.
Omarvls - 8/1/2014, 8:03 AM
@Nomis

Yeah my fried though it was okay
Fortunately you guys are in a tiny minority

This movie is EPI I LOVED IT

With The Winter Soldier and GotG
Marvel has officially taken it to another level

CANNOT WAIT to see where GotG 2 takes us

fanDomX - 8/1/2014, 8:03 AM
"A lot of people are over hyping it"... So people that are saying they liked it as much as they did are saying so just to say so? NO, they either liked it or didn't. it just happens that a lot of people are liking this movie more than you did and voicing their opinion. There is nothing wrong with you not liking it as much as others.
Nomis - 8/1/2014, 8:03 AM
Cap 2: the Winter Soldier is still my favorite movie of the year,followed slightly behind 'Dawn of the "Planets of the Apes".
Jollem - 8/1/2014, 8:04 AM
i heard this movie is overrated. i'll be seeing it on sunday
WinterSoldier33 - 8/1/2014, 8:08 AM
I am literally about to see it

Hope it is great
ibravosp5 - 8/1/2014, 8:09 AM
Lol I like how all movies are the worst movie ever
THEDARKKNIGHT1939 - 8/1/2014, 8:09 AM
Blu Ray for me. Unless my cousin really wants to see it.
JorL5150 - 8/1/2014, 8:11 AM
I'm sure it's entertaining as hell- going to take the kids to a matinee next weekend
AxeiumTheory - 8/1/2014, 8:12 AM
This movie was everything I wanted it to be and more!! I actually liked it better than the Avengers, and that's saying A LOT! It was right down my alley of everything I love in a movie. Hilarious, action packed, visually stunning, weird, and awesome all rolled into one. Can't wait to see it again! James Gunn pulled it off!
fanDomX - 8/1/2014, 8:15 AM
@jollem you might as well stay home. I could write your review for you right now knowing your past comments on Marvel movies. LOL .......JOKING, plenty of people at my screening were raving about it but there were a few who thought it was good just not the best. I personally loved GOTG and know that the success of this movie will not only open doors for more unique Marvel movie but for DC and other Sci-Fi films as well.
kalelhawj - 8/1/2014, 8:15 AM
It was ok for me. Movie was way too over hype... It an't no 5 star movie as some are making it out to be. Good not great.
Phronesis - 8/1/2014, 8:19 AM
@Jollem It literally just came out, man.

Anyways, the critic in me wants to tear this movie to part. Everything from the concept to execution shouldn't have worked but... It did. Still has many, many problems.
Jollem - 8/1/2014, 8:20 AM
@fanDomX - i've seen lots of unique sci-fi movies already
Nitric - 8/1/2014, 8:24 AM
I loved it! hoping they release a dancing groot so i can by it for my office desk. I love Mr. Sundays reviews, does anyone know if he's ever given a movie a " best movie ever"?
Kayo - 8/1/2014, 8:25 AM
saw it today in Cebu.........visuals are great, enough actions and laughs.
Gusto - 8/1/2014, 8:25 AM
Nom...you didn't like it?
Jollem - 8/1/2014, 8:28 AM
@Gusto - it's okay. marvel studios is still winning!! :D
StoneHex104 - 8/1/2014, 8:30 AM
So... no mid credits scene? I've been dying to know if there is one, if there's not I'll be f****** pissed.
Phronesis - 8/1/2014, 8:31 AM
One thing's for sure, Lee Pace described his character exactly. An evil [frick]er. That's all he is. Nothing more nothing less. Boring villain.
fanDomX - 8/1/2014, 8:36 AM
@ Jollem so did you want me to write your review??? LOL, Joke. Did you see Edge of tomorrow? I think people that loved Edge alot and PREFER that kind of Sci-Fi might not find the kind of space fantasy of GOTG overly appealing. Though i thought Edge was great as well as enjoyed Guardians.
yossarian - 8/1/2014, 8:37 AM
Rob Zombie is in this? Is it his voice or can you tell it's him?
Nomis - 8/1/2014, 8:40 AM
@ Gusto - No...Not really.

It had some moments, but you get beat over the head with constant one-liners that not as funny as they think they are and silly dance steps. And the villain is forgettable.

It tries to hard to be funny and heart felt at the same time and comes off as neither.
RorMachine - 8/1/2014, 8:41 AM
Good review Mr Sunday..but how can you give it a "worst movie ever", after praising it so much and then IMMEDIATELY after saying it's amazing?

SMDH!
fanDomX - 8/1/2014, 8:41 AM
The only thing about Ronan was he needed more screen time. Lee was great though.
monkeyballs - 8/1/2014, 8:44 AM
And when the hell is this site going to get its mobile act together. Jesus Christ Allah Mighty!
Jollem - 8/1/2014, 8:45 AM
@fanDomX - didn't see edge of tomorrow. heard it was good. check out Event Horizon. it's pretty kooky. although, now stephen hawking would have the movie be called Apparent Horizon :)
TheRealRemyLebeau - 8/1/2014, 8:49 AM
I seen it last night. This film is in my top 3 best MCU films and Top 3 blockbusters this year I've seen. It was a pure joy ride. It was crazy entertaining and very funny. Ronan was a imposing beast that was no one's puppet. You'll see what I mean if you haven't seen it. I would give Guardians 4/5*. It was very different from other Marvel films. I will say this though, it was not better than Captain America 2 this year. Still though the Easter Eggs are everywhere in this film. The galaxy is wide open now. Thanos was massive. I wanted to see more of him but it was and great first look. Movie was full of fun. This team is here to stay. Oh and Drax was my favorite as well as Yondu.


Top 10 MCU Films for me:

Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Avengers
Guardians of the Galaxy
Iron Man
Thor: The Dark World
Iron Man 3
Captain America: The First Avenger
Thor
Iron Man 2
Incredible Hulk
monkeyballs - 8/1/2014, 8:53 AM
I heard there are so many washboard abs and rock-hard pecks in this flick that Gusto is pitching a major tent.

plasticman - 8/1/2014, 8:55 AM
You have a lot of story to tell in two hours with this movie. You have to introduce your audience to this rag tag bunch of heroes-to-be, introduce the main antagonist, band this group together somehow, and have them take on the antagonist.
For those of you that are complaining that this movie was over-hyped or not that great consider all that was accomplished at a new viewer level in that time frame. You feel for the characters, there understand the purpose behind defeating their foe, and you get some laughs and action spread evenly throughout the movie in a seamless manner.

For the love of Gusto, WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT!?

If the general audience had the luxury of knowing who any of these characters were from the beginning you could have done what has been done with properties like Batman, Captain America, or Spiderman. You could dwell on the reason the villains are the way they are more, what role fate has played in each character's lives more deeply, or expand on an existing story arc. There can be none of that here.

This is the launching pad for a much larger cinematic universe and it was executed with precision. Unlike any other CBM this movie has successfully found the formula to unlike interest in a whole new universe. For that, I give it Best Space CBM of the modern era and financially the most promising for future development, dare I say more than possibly Star Wars?

This is my favorite CBM in the last two years, I'm not even afraid to say that. As my kids said, on a scale of 1 to 10 this gets a 100%.
yossarian - 8/1/2014, 8:55 AM
The GF is packing for a weekend trip she is taking and just texted me asking if I have seen her new t-shirt.

She leaves in 2 hours.

I sent her a picture of me wearing her new t-shirt under my regular shirt. hahahahahahahahhahahaa She is pissed at me.

She should plan better than packing the day of her trip.
NightForce - 8/1/2014, 8:57 AM
HAHA okay @Jollem the movie's has been out ONE day but you "heard its overrated". Haha I probably COULD write your review of this movie for you.
1 2 3

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.