LOOPER Review: A Science Fiction Masterpiece From Start To Finish

LOOPER Review: A Science Fiction Masterpiece From Start To Finish

The Rian Johnson-directed science fiction film Looper, starring Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, arrives in US theatres tomorrow. With that, hit the jump to check out my review the film...

If you don't want to know anything about the film, don't read this review.

There have been a couple of truly great science fiction films in the last ten years that left a mark in movie history with its style, story and characters. Rian Johnson's Looper is one of them. Set in 2044, the film follows an assassin called Joe, played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt. He is one of the "Loopers" who kills people that mafia sends from the future. But everything changes when the person sent from the future to be murdered, is Joe himself. This would be the simplified story of the film, because if I go into more details, I would spoil the film, which I'm trying to avoid in this review. More below.

While time travel is nothing new in science fiction films, writer/director Rian Johnson brings us a fresh and somewhat original idea with this subject and the result is absolutely brilliant. The attention to details in the film is rather refreshing, because a lot of stuff is happening throughout the whole thing. Which some people won't like. The story (in some places) switches from present to future via quick edits, and I really loved that. The script is smart and the characters are interesting, which is something you need to have a for a story like this. Rian Johnson's direction is impressive, as he gives each of the main characters time to develop, and the action sequences are just amazing.


Engaging performance from Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something that helps this movie. A lot. Levitt has prosthetic attached to his face so he would look more like younger Bruce Willis, and honestly, it looks great. Levitt gives his 100% in this films, and it shows. Bruce Willis finally returns to his top form, as he gives a very emotional performance by playing Joe from the future. There is a scene in the film where Willis and Levitt are in a diner, talking to each to other and it's just so brilliant. Despite some amazing visuals and action scenes, this particular scene with two of them just talking is very special. Emily Blunt plays Sara, a mother of a child who is a very important part of the story. Blunt is also great in this one, as is the rest of the cast which includes Paul Dano, Jeff Daniels and Garret Dillahunt. Also, Pierce Gagnon plays this kid who has telekinetic powers, and I must say - he was really good. Which is actually kind of surprsing, as you don't see that many child actors who can hold their own among a cast like this.

Looper is a must-see for movie lovers, science fiction fans and pretty much everyone else. It's a film that has an amazing story, with interesting characters, great cinematography, editing and music. It's a sci-fi masterpiece and definitely the best film of the year, so far.


RATING: 10/10


Posted By:
WolvieCBM
Member Since 2/9/2009
Filed Under "Sci-Fi" 9/27/2012
DISCLAIMER: This article was submitted by a volunteer contributor who has agreed to our code of conduct. ComicBookMovie.com is protected from liability under the Digital Millenium Copyright Act (DMCA) and "safe harbor" provisions. CBM will disable users who knowingly commit plagiarism, piracy, trademark or copyright infringement. Please contact us for expeditious removal of copyrighted/trademarked content. You may also learn more about our copyright and trademark policies HERE.
42 Comments
1 2
THEDARKKNIGHT1939 - 9/27/2012, 6:46 PM
Sweet! Looking forward to seeing it
CaptainAmerica31 - 9/27/2012, 6:48 PM
I really wanna see this movie
Nick56 - 9/27/2012, 6:48 PM
I thought the film was terrible. had a solid original neo-noir first act, boring second act, and ridiculously laughable 3rd act
Alien - 9/27/2012, 6:51 PM
marvel72 - 9/27/2012, 6:54 PM
empire gave it 5/5 as well.
Christuffer - 9/27/2012, 6:54 PM
Well, that escalated quickly
Bandido - 9/27/2012, 7:11 PM
I can't wait to see it tomorrow :)

I was hooked when I saw the first trailer and I never really understood why ppl started to say stuff like "it's exactly like inception" Lol But oh well!

Anyways it's good to hear that its getting great reviews
marckos - 9/27/2012, 7:13 PM
Ainda bem que não sei nada de inglês, só li a nota... Verei amanha!
Maximus101 - 9/27/2012, 8:00 PM
Best film this year so far Jesus, take that avengers and TDKR! Now I'm even more excited to see this movie.
Gamma022 - 9/27/2012, 8:06 PM
Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Paul Dano in the same movie?
Just add Cillian Murphy and it would be THE perfect movie for me :)
Fogs - 9/27/2012, 8:23 PM
Nice, gotta check it out.
Boekelaar - 9/27/2012, 8:28 PM
I saw it last night...not a masterpiece. I need to watch it again because it wasn't what I was expecting and I think it threw me a bit. But there were some very obvious flaws in this film and I'm not sure that every scene was shot to it's potential. I think the film could have been better. I'd say that Prometheus was better than Looper. Obviously to each their own but unless a film is 100% flawless in every single aspect and just grabs your attention at every second and you're completely engaged throughout than it is not a masterpiece. Still a very good film with some unexpected twists and turns but it doesn't deserve a 10/10 rating.
gaikinger - 9/27/2012, 8:55 PM
Was it better than Dredd...for me Dredd set the bar this year
lokibane2012 - 9/27/2012, 10:17 PM
Hmmm... I was gonna watch it anyways but all these reviews claiming it to be a sci-fi masterpiece have me really excited and worried at the same time.

Because excitement beforehand is the most important ingredient of eventual disappointment.
NostalgicYouth - 9/27/2012, 10:28 PM
No Homo, but Bruce Willis was ripped andsmexy when he was younger, Joseph Gordon- Levitt is just handsome and slim in the movie with those prostetics, meaning he does not look like a younger Bruce Willis.
DrRockso - 9/27/2012, 11:10 PM
No homo, but I stirred my coffee this morning with another man's penis.
DrRockso - 9/27/2012, 11:11 PM
And yes, there was fluffing involved
OptimusPrimeTime - 9/27/2012, 11:58 PM
@@@@Wolvie - Excellent review, as always, my friend. You do some of the best, keep em up.

From the sound of this movie, it is looking like the 2nd dark horse (Dredd being the 1st) of the Summer. I can't wait to see it.

Oh yah and TDKR sucks, The Avengers is the best film ever made...blah blah blah

TheHierophant - 9/28/2012, 12:02 AM
@WolvieCBM (or anyone else who has seen it): I've got only one question about this movie: Do they explain how Joe from the future doesn't remember any of these events, or does he? I know it's sort of a nitpicky thing to ask (especially for a movie like this), but it's the first thing that popped into my head when I first heard about the movie.
OptimusPrimeTime - 9/28/2012, 12:10 AM
@@Hiero

That seems like a huge ass spoiler!

Go watch!! This movie is going to be better than a fresh crop of catamites!
TheHierophant - 9/28/2012, 12:22 AM
@OptimusPrimeTime: Not really. Just a simple "yes" or "no" will suffice. The answer really won't have weight on whether I go see it, because I am no matter what. I'm just curious as to what to expect.
NostalgicYouth - 9/28/2012, 1:10 AM
@ DrRockso
Did it have extra cream?
NostalgicYouth - 9/28/2012, 1:11 AM
Not the penis, the coffee
dreddhead123 - 9/28/2012, 1:49 AM
Based on the trailer it looked kinda cheap low budget stuff. Filming in what looked like a corn field - that looks real cool. :P

Kingdork - 9/28/2012, 2:30 AM
The word "masterpiece" gets thrown a lot in reviews and on this site in general.
Jollem - 9/28/2012, 2:36 AM
didn't read the review, but i knew this was gunna be awesome :)
DrRockso - 9/28/2012, 3:46 AM
@NostalgicYouth
No, just instant Folgers in hotdog water
marvel72 - 9/28/2012, 6:13 AM
yeah i must agree the word "masterpiece" does get used alot on the internet in general,remember the early twitter buzz surrounding the dark knight rises."masterpiece" was used then & that turned out far from being a "masterpiece".

i suppose we'll hear it again when the hobbit comes out.
DrHorrible - 9/28/2012, 6:40 AM
There is no such thing as a "masterpiece" in the world of movies, no matter how good you think a movie is. Perfection isn't achieved, ever, contrary to popular belief. With that said, I'll still check this movie out.

Also, is it me or is it kind of weird how Bruce Willis doesn't remember or "seem" to remember this entire situation happening? Did Bruce Willis, when he was young, have to kill his older self and that one he kills killed his older self when he was young? Is that why it's called "Looper"?...
WolvieCBM - 9/28/2012, 7:08 AM
earzmundo: Thanks man. Well, I still have to pick up Batman: The Dark Knight Returns on Blu-ray, but I did post my Dredd review last week. Here is the link: http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Wolvie09/news/?a=67629

Yes, I know the word "masterpiece" is used a lot, but the thing is, I don't use it very often and I don't usually give films a 10/10. I had to make an exception witn this film, because well, it really is that good.
DrHorrible - 9/28/2012, 7:16 AM
@WolvieCBM Great review, BTW. Thanks for deleting the comment that was after me. I'm not sure if it was a spoiler, but I'll be mad if it is.
DrHorrible - 9/28/2012, 7:48 AM
@killerkooljames Nothing really. You're not worth my time or insults. But I'll leave you with a question: What kind of person are you that you enjoy spoiling movies for people that don't want them spoiled?
DrRockso - 9/28/2012, 8:01 AM
@teabag
My cup awaits...
DrRockso - 9/28/2012, 8:02 AM
On a side note, I don't like spoilers but I read them every. Single. Time.
WolvieCBM - 9/28/2012, 8:16 AM
NinjaJesus: Ugh, yeah, wish I had seen it sooner.

killerkooljames: He won't do anything, but if you don't stop ruining a film for everyone in the comments, as well as that attitude towards users who have a normal conversation, someone else might do something.
NostalgicYouth - 9/28/2012, 8:25 AM
The Avengers, and the Dark Knight Rises were both spoiled to me because of the articles on this site; but I still enjoyed them.
Logan5 - 9/28/2012, 9:29 AM
@wolvieCBM

Good to hear! I hope you did not just(intentionally or unintentionally) set this up to be torn down. :P

Seriously though, I'm in the theater this weekend for this one and have been looking forward to it for quite sometime.
DrRockso - 9/28/2012, 10:18 AM
That's awesome
Ha1frican - 9/28/2012, 10:19 AM
Anyone know a streaming site that has this is decent quality yet?
Ha1frican - 9/28/2012, 10:19 AM
@tea lmao
1 2

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.