REVIEW: X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST

REVIEW: X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST

I've finally got the chance to see the latest addition into the X-Men lore, and was interested to see what Bryan Singer had to offer in his return. Hit the jump and check out my review of X-Men: Days of Future Past.



I'm a huge fan of the first two X-Men films, and was disappointed to see this franchise crumble under the weight of X-Men: The Last Stand, and X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Going into this, my main concern was how can Bryan Singer flesh out a large group of characters, and bring a time traveling story together, without it feeling convoluted? Thankfully, the two mesh together very well, in which I found myself being hooked the entire time. 

The story is loosely based on the 1981 story arc, by Chris Claremont and John Byrne. Although I've only read bits and pieces of it, the films title alone gave me an idea of what this was about. In a very brooding post apocalyptic future, the X-Men have come together to send Logan back in time to the year 1973, to stop the Sentinels from wreaking havoc amongst the mutants. Logan, Charles and Hank share a great amount of time together, and their chemistry was top notch. And I'm truly impressed with how James McAvoy and Micheal Fassbender portray the younger versions of Charles and Eric, who completely engage themselves in these roles. Jennifer Lawrence returns as Raven, who simply now calls herself Mystique. She kicks a lot of ass here, and she's very cold yet heartfelt to an extent, but really having the audacity to take out Bolivar Trask, played by Peter Dinklange. His character is played out to be the main villain, ultimately that's not the case. But I didn't mind it, as I was still intrigued by his character no matter what his motivations were.

I was glad to see the original cast back on screen together as well, Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellen, Halle Berry along with the welcoming presence of Shawn Ashmore as Bobby Drake/Iceman and Ellen Page as Kitty Pryde. Who've all done a great job with their roles, bringing a great sense of life to these characters. John Ottman, who is known for his iconic X-Men theme from X2, makes his return to score the film, and I couldn't be more excited to hear it again, along with bringing in really light and intense themes. But the biggest surprise to me, was Evan Peters as Peter Maximoff/Quicksilver. Who I thought at first judging by official stills, looked awful. Which I now find extremely silly, as Quicksilver is the main highlight of the film. His scenes where amazing, and I even found myself bursting out laughing, really well done and I can't wait to see more of him.

Getting towards the end of the film, I was begging to see how the story panned out. Without spoiling anything, I can tell you this, I couldn't help but have a huge smile on my face. To see a story like this all intertwine together, is truly exceptional. Bryan Singer has done a hell of a job, and I'm glad that this payed off, a very well made comic book film from beginning to end.

X-Men: Days of Future Past is in my opinion the best X-Men film yet, surpassing X-Men: First Class and X2: X-Men United. This franchise is back to form, and to full effect and I can't wait to see 2016's  X-Men: Apocalypse.

RATING: 5/5

Posted By:
D117
Member Since 11/27/2010
Filed Under "X-Men: Days of Future Past" 5/31/2014
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
203 Comments
1 2 3 4 5 6
rahavens - 5/31/2014, 1:52 PM
Just a tad late on the review. But tops anyways
Mike89 - 5/31/2014, 1:53 PM
Already seen it twice, the movie is Still Amazing. Good Review.
Ineedrevelation - 5/31/2014, 1:53 PM
Over rated film. Cap was clearly better cause it managed to hold onto the box office 3 weeks straight.

X-men was good but not better than X2.

Winter Soldier is neck and neck with The Dark Knight
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 1:54 PM
Awesome review, awesome film
wookiefit - 5/31/2014, 1:56 PM
I think you know what I'll say here, so I'll just leave it as nice write up.
GeekyCheekyChic - 5/31/2014, 1:56 PM
a bit late...late enough to where you wouldn't really be spoiling the movie but good review. Personally I think its the best X film they have made.
rahavens - 5/31/2014, 1:56 PM
BlackJack with a gif that isn't DiCaprio :0
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 1:57 PM
"Over rated film. Cap was clearly better cause it managed to hold onto the box office 3 weeks straight."

1. Captain America should have nothing to do with DOFP
2. Captain America held on that long because it had little to no competition.
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 1:58 PM
I second what Ineed said. And DOFP was an awesome X-men film. No denying that. But as an overall CBM it sucked utter-ass.
TheBigBoss917 - 5/31/2014, 1:59 PM
Haha what a falacy so because winter soilder stayed at number 1 longer it makes it a better movie? It has nothing to do that it had the whole month of April? Even so its hilarious thats your deciding factor.
CPBuff22 - 5/31/2014, 1:59 PM
It was on par with Amazing Spider-man 2... 3/5
CaptainAmerica31 - 5/31/2014, 1:59 PM
@ineedrevelation good to know SM3 is better than thor, Cap, TTDW, First class, and TWS. Cause by your logic, a movies profit makes it better than other films when BO returns don't reflect quality
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:00 PM
There's the gif ;)
SuperCat - 5/31/2014, 2:01 PM
I give the movie 4/5. Good review!

lizero - 5/31/2014, 2:02 PM
Its strange, I disliked Xmen 1 and 2. I loved Last Stand and First Class yet I really didnt like Days of Future Past. Im not an Xmen fan and thats probably why but im happy with the films I like, im not going to go out of my way to pretend to like a film which I dont.
prettynucIear - 5/31/2014, 2:03 PM
It was pretty meh after quicksilver left
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:07 PM
"4 Minutes future Sentinels at the beginning and 4 minutes of future Sentinels at the end. NO 1973 Sentinels at all. Not even activated :("

...did you actually watch the film?
GliderMan - 5/31/2014, 2:08 PM
I hated the ending, I won't say what happens but it's already confirmed that it made almost all the other movies out of canon. And I hate that. I loved watching the movies as one chronological storyline. Now, there's no real point in watching those movies. Even a good bit of The Wolverine doesn't count anymore. So goodbye movie marathons.

Also, the scenes with Quicksilver were kinda cool, but we could've done without them. I hate the way he was dressed, and making him American is unfaithful to the comic book.

I didn't like how Kitty just all of a sudden has the time-phasing powers. There's not even a mention of when she discovered she had them; she just all of a sudden does.

I don't like those three things, but the rest of the movie was pure gold.
CaptainAmerica31 - 5/31/2014, 2:08 PM
@doubleD so I'm guessing you didn't actually watch the movie cause the 73' sentinels were definitely activated.
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 2:09 PM
I didn't enjoy DOFP and even I know that the 73 sentinels were very much active.
CaptainAmerica1945 - 5/31/2014, 2:10 PM
I thought it was a fine film, but I still think that CATWS had a better story.

Glad the X-men are back on the right track and I hope the next film will rock!



By the way, here we are arguing about the best summer superhero flick. How lucky are we to have 4 great movies this summer and more on the way for the next few summers!
GliderMan - 5/31/2014, 2:10 PM
In my opinion, X-Men Origins and X2 were good. The first X-Men was slightly better, though X2 had better fight scenes. X3 is my favorite of the original trilogy. Then The Wolverine and First Class, and then DOFP is the best, despite my issues with it.
CaptainAmerica31 - 5/31/2014, 2:12 PM
@doubleD the movie is X-men Days of Future past, not X-men: sentinels. Godzilla is named Godzilla, sentinels are not the main focus of the film. Idk why it's so hard to grasp that concept
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 2:13 PM
I feel offended when I see people Putting Godzilla and X-Men DOFP in the same sentence.

One film was a perfect way of introducing the 'King of Monsters', the other was just....
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:13 PM
The sentinels were definitely activated.



It shouldn't take more than one viewing to understand that, since their activation in '73 was a MAJOR turning point in the final moments of the film.
WakeOfMagellen - 5/31/2014, 2:14 PM
I liked the movie a lot.

But saying that I went in with the perspective of seeing all the previous "X-related" movies at least a dozen or so times each,
and knowing the differences between the history of the classic comic books (Claremont & Byrne especially) and the movies of the last decade or so.

That being said.....
I have to..... HAVE TO separate the two mediums. (film & comic books)
Otherwise each and every "X-related" movie would do nothing but make me either angry, depressed or just plain ol' un-interested.

But..... DOFP?
Entertained ;-)
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 2:16 PM
I liked the movie but it turned into another Magneto Vs Xmen movie. Even Task was not a threat in this movie"


Gotta agree with you on that one.
mmadadamm - 5/31/2014, 2:16 PM
Winter Soldier is overrated
CaptainAmerica31 - 5/31/2014, 2:16 PM
I loved Godzilla but DOFP tells a much better story even when it has a billion things on it's plate. Godzilla was awesome, but if I compare the quality of the two DOFP clearly takes the cake. Out of all the movies I've seen this year
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 2:17 PM
Lol, 10 bucks say Magneto will be the main villain of Age of Apocalypse. Apocalypse will just be a side villain.

I guarantee it.
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:17 PM
"Even Task was not a threat in this movie"

Trask should never be a physical threat and never needs to be a physical threat, it's his mind, willpower, and creations that are the threat, which they most certainly are in this film.
Pasto - 5/31/2014, 2:18 PM
CaptainAmerica31
As long as you give credit to Godzilla for rocking 2014, I can accept your opinion.

mmadamm
You're a dumbass.
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:19 PM
Did you not witness the part where Magneto activated them and sent them out to patrol the borders of the stadium, as well as having one of them take down Wolverine and Beast (you actually got a first person viewpoint from the sentiel, witnessing the trigger of mutants)?
GliderMan - 5/31/2014, 2:20 PM
CaptainAmerica31 - 5/31/2014, 2:21 PM
@DoubleD did you see the future scenes? Trask is CLEARLY a threat. If trask is not stopped, the future happens. Therefore Trask is a much MUCH bigger threat than Magneto in the film because if he lives thousands and millions of people will die. They don't have to show him shooting someone in the head. It's the art of subtly
GliderMan - 5/31/2014, 2:21 PM
I'm an IM2/IM3/Thor 2 lover.

Guess what? I'm also a X2/IM/TWS lover.

God, you people love to complain.
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:22 PM
For a short time, yes they were puppeted, but Magneto kept one away from the border and nearby him instead. When Wolverine and Beast approached, they sentinel sensed their presence and went off on them.
wookiefit - 5/31/2014, 2:22 PM
you know who was a threat in this movie..... Maleficent
MrBlackJack - 5/31/2014, 2:23 PM
And I highly doubt you timed the screentime of the sentinels.
McNyagano - 5/31/2014, 2:27 PM
Magneto activating the sentinels and controlling them was bullshit. Since when did he become an expert in electronics?
1 2 3 4 5 6

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.