VIDEO: Red Letter Media Review X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST

VIDEO: Red Letter Media Review X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST

The latest Red Letter Media installment of "Half in the Bag" brings us Mike and Jay's take on Bryan Singer's new X-flick, and like most of us, they loved it. They also saw Seth MacFarlane's A Million Ways To Die In The West, and ...didn't love it. Click on for more.


The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The beloved characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class, in an epic battle that must change the past -- to save our future.

X-Men: Days of Future Past stars Hugh Jackman, James McAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence, Patrick Stewart, Michael Fassbender,, Ian McKellen, Nicholas Hoult, Omar Sy, Peter Dinklage, Halle Berry, Adan Canto, Fan Bingbing, Anna Paquin, Evan Peters, Daniel Cudmore, Ellen Page & Booboo Stewart. The film is in theaters now.
Posted By:
Mark Cassidy
Member Since 11/9/2008
Filed Under "X-Men: Days of Future Past" 6/9/2014
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
93 Comments
1 2 3
kylo0607 - 6/9/2014, 4:04 AM
Fantastic film! I watched it 3 times already and I am definitely buying the blu-ray. Good job, Singer.
loki668 - 6/9/2014, 4:19 AM
I found this to be the best of the X-Men films to date. I always believed that this film would be either Singer's downfall or his redemption. Looks like he chose redemption. Let's see what Apocalypse holds!! Any nitpicking, if one wished, could be chalked up to.......




Brainiac13 - 6/9/2014, 4:34 AM
He liked it MORE than The Avengers

FLAME WAR!!!! ;)
Brainiac13 - 6/9/2014, 4:37 AM
It had more Heart & Emotional drive than the Avenger......but Avengers still was more of a spectacle.
MakluIV - 6/9/2014, 4:41 AM
ha! The music. The 90's kicked so much ass. We had the badass X-Men cartoons with the real sentinels and Nimrod and shit. Awesome times.
Marqy - 6/9/2014, 4:48 AM
ERMAHGERD! ERX-MERN DURS URF FURTUR PRST REVR !
Marqy - 6/9/2014, 4:50 AM
@Braniac

Hey .. hey .. psst ! Dont tell anyone but I also liked it more
loki668 - 6/9/2014, 4:51 AM
GET HIM!!!!
breakUbatman - 6/9/2014, 4:54 AM
X-Men D.O.FP is D.O.A


























































































































































http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/90/67/a0/9067a01aac0b4762281e9471c596774a.jpg
thewonderer - 6/9/2014, 5:00 AM
@Manonsting

Really? The Wolverine sucks? That is a really underrated CBM. Especially the extended cut. If anything, it definitely is at least a decent movie. But bad? no.
Brainiac13 - 6/9/2014, 5:01 AM
@Maxi91291

:)
Brainiac13 - 6/9/2014, 5:03 AM
@ManCalledSting

Agree. :)
Marqy - 6/9/2014, 5:07 AM
As far as consensus goes ... origins "sucks" but The WOlverine is good.
Marqy - 6/9/2014, 5:11 AM
This was the real deal last year.

Brainiac13 - 6/9/2014, 5:18 AM
I loved The Wolverine.....extended cut is far better.....It was cool to see him unleashed and use the '[frick]' word a few times.......It's a shame DOFP has erased this from the timeline.....collateral damage I guess. :(
VISIONaryNPa - 6/9/2014, 5:19 AM
I liked it more.. :-]
VISIONaryNPa - 6/9/2014, 5:21 AM
@Brainiac13 well it's not all 'erased', if you consider this: Logan remembers, we remember, we know, we can go back (as fans)... relive the moments. ect. anyway, I enjoyed DOFP, and I remember watching the animated show as a kid. Saw DOFP the day it was released ($17.00 ticket), and yesterday ($9.00).

I'm about to go watch the original X-Men film.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 6:24 AM
Joss Whedon= Witty & goofy

Lmao.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 6:26 AM
I did like it more then Avengers as well.
TMcFarlaneFan - 6/9/2014, 6:32 AM
It was good but not great. To be fair it was just slightly better than X-Men 1st Class.

It was well made but it lacked drama, tension or heart. DOFP wasn't the kind of movie to keep you on the edge of your seat. And too many good actors were held back so Jackman could pull a Kobe and hog the ball. Had we seen more of Kitty, Beast, Magneto, Bishop, Iceman, Cyclops, Jean then it would've been much better.

In other words if Wolverine was only a cameo it would've been much, much better.

It does rank among the best but it is quite far from being the best CBM ever.

1. Avengers
2. The Dark Knight
3. Captain America TWS
4. Iron Man
5. Spider-Man 2
6. Watchmen
7. X-Men DOFP
8. X-Men 1st Class
9. Spider-Man
10. Captain America TFA
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 6:33 AM
@ManCalledSting- Which is why I never liked his work to begin with.

I never cared for Firefly
Angel
Buffy

Avengers is the only one I seem to care for but that is because it is a comic book movie. Hopefully in the sequel, maybe it isn't too witty and goofy. Just not my thing, maybe it is just me, but I'm not someone who prefers dark brooding movies all the time, but I do want to see an Avengers movie taken seriously instead of punch-lines waiting around the corner in every scene. Which I get it, Avengers is a great popcorn flick using superheroes as an ensemble as the backdrop.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 6:35 AM
I even remember when Whedon was trying to buy Terminator............that would of ruined Terminator forever.....

FOREVER
TMcFarlaneFan - 6/9/2014, 6:53 AM
@ManCalledSting The Wolverine's big problems were the lack of interesting supporting characters and the lack of at least one great actor to balance the movie.

And it's biggest problem was a "villain", if he could even be called that, who had no personal conflict with Logan and wasn't a real threat to anyone else but simply wanted Logan's healing ability so he could extend his life. Imagine a Dark Knight film where the Joker just wants Batman's car and you have The Wolverine.

If you look at Iron Man, Obadiah Stane wanted the armor yes but he also was a war monger. And his mission was to also steal Tony's company and spread weapons of war, which would harm the world. And he wanted the suit for mass production which would further escalate wars and destruction.

So plenty was on the line in Iron Man. In The Wolverine Yashida just wanted to live forever. And he was just a threat to Logan.

But let's say the story was tweaked and someone wanted to make an army with the healing factor. Then you have a much stronger threat and more powerful drama.
blackandyellow - 6/9/2014, 7:00 AM
I liked the movie.

MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 7:02 AM
@DarkGunslinger- Well, there is a difference.

Wolverine, is more of a personal story rather then a movie where the stakes feel high. Wolverine is a movie where the character was called out on a journey and was given the idea to not be immortal again and be an actual human and experience death for himself, something Yoshida felt Wolverine longed for. It wasn't a story where the stakes should feel high because if that was the plan at the end where he wanted to rule the world and hurt millions of people, then it would feel just as silly as him going into a robotic suit as Silver Samurai.

Even if he wanted an army of people with healing factors, where does that take the story on a personal level that the whole movie was trying to achieve, that would mean a complete re-write of the script.

Iron Man, as a comparison really didn't specify what Obidiah wanted, he really just wanted the company for himself and became more annoyed when Stark decided to stop selling weapons, and have all his weapons integrated in a suit. The stakes were high on a personal level in both movies.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 7:05 AM
@ManCalledSting- I tried watching Cabin in the Woods, never could get into it.

I really just don't like Whedon, I don't like his style what so ever at times.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 7:07 AM
I don't even know why a comparison should be made for Wolverine & The Dark Knight
HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 7:11 AM
It was a really good movie. But there were a lot of things that just seemed made up and uber convenient.

A. Where did Kitty get her time-traveling powers? You could say that it's further evolution, but you need to address that.

B. Wolverine get's his metal claws back. I've heard theories that Magneto could've put them back in. Ok that could make sense, but again the movie needed to address this.

C. Mystique's cell's can be turned into super-adapting sentinels. What?

HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 7:18 AM
Also, I'm curious. Was this film supposed to be connected to the Trilogy? If it was, then where were the sentinels all those years? If the sentinel program started in the '60s then why didn't any of them appear in the the trilogy. Also, why were the politicians just beginning to debate the mutant issue in the first X-Men movie. If the trilogy was connected to First Class and DOFP then everyone should've have known what mutants were and they should've been getting massacred by sentinels.

I prefer to think that the trilogy was a completely different continuity than First Class and DOFP with some of the same actors playing the same characters. I'm ok with that. The only thing is that The Wolverine was clearly supposed to connect to the trilogy and it's post credit scene teased DOFP. WTF?
HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 7:22 AM
I've come to the conclusion that none of the executives at FOX can make up their minds. The Wolverine was clearly written as a follow up to the events of The Last Stand, but the post-credit scene teased DOFP that steps all over the continuity of the trilogy. I prefer to act like that scene never happened because honestly it made no sense with anything.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 7:23 AM
@HAILHYDRA- I can answer some questions.

For Sentinels not appearing all those years, they did state that it took them years to make the Sentinels, but instead of making the Sentinels the similar prototype that Trask made, it was made to take years to take Mystiques DNA to put it onto a Sentinel. They stated that they did wait for years after Trasks death as well. Why they waited so long? Well have those Sentinels could easily be taken out, since X-Men in the comics do it all the time.

Also with politicians just beginning to touch on that is a continuous of First Class. I am sure if mutants were in our world, we would be speaking about it for years and years. Can you live with someone with that amount of healing, or power or even claws and automatically think Hey, I can trust them? So I understand the need to have more political debates for mutants for years and years, especially when you have a mutant like Magneto ripping out stadiums and what not or a mutant like Senator Kelly explained who can walk through walls. What's to stop her from robbing a bank?

Shit like that, is why there will always be political debates.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 7:31 AM
You see, it is issues like that, that make me begin more and more to realize why you can't paint the X-Men as superheroes with flashy costumes, in fact the very idea of costumes in general is why you shouldn't.

Yes, I know it is part of the comics, but the concept of that idea is taken to a point where Singer wanted to make it feel a lot like these mutants exist in our world. Mind you, movies around the time the first X-Men came out had a very distinct world where they lived in, Metropolis, Gotham, Alderan, Tatoonie, I mean those settings aren't settings where we could feel like they could happen or relate too or even take seriously.

So to take X-Men where they can be relatable in some degree and make them feel like a real world type of setting I felt was the best choice in all.

Do I hope to see an X-Men comic book adaptations that fans want? Sure. I mean I read them, I see some of their points, but I would like to see a writer handle that for a wide audience where they can feel like superheroes. So far yea, they feel like extremists, all of them honestly, even the X-Men.
HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 7:34 AM
Despite all the continuity errors I must say it was a really good movie. I was just really hoping for it to have a culmination type feel to it (like the Avengers) but it really didn't. The only movie that it borrowed plot points from was First Class. So it was really just a First Class sequel which was what it was originally intended to be. But when so many of the original cast members signed on to come back they made it out to be a movie that everything has been building to and it really wasn't. For example:

1. The trilogy introduced Trask, but it wasn't the same character. Other than that, DOFP borrow no plot points from the trilogy. The only thing they had in common was the actors.

2. First Class didn't really lead into DOFP at all. It teased Magneto breaking Emma out of jail and DOFP didn't do anything with that. Emma is gone.

What's weird is that I figured since First Class was supposed to be some sort of soft reboot, then FOX would have some sort of direction with that they wanted to do with the X-MEN but they really don't. First Class did very little to set up DOFP. There were no teasers for a DOFP film coming next. And neither DOFP or First Class really connected to the Wolverine at all. And now they they know that an Apocalypse film is coming next, they could've done something to hint towards what's next but all they throw in is some confusing teaser after the credits. I fell in love with the MCU for it's continuity and vision. And I'm sure that the DCCU will do the same, but FOX has no vision with that their doing with the X-Men at all.
Bailkurn44 - 6/9/2014, 7:39 AM
You're damn right X-Men Days of Future Past is better than the middle of the road Avengers! You're awesome Ref Letter Media.
HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 7:47 AM
Whedon knew when he got picked for Avengers that if he got a sequel he was going to do Ultron. FOX has no idea what it's doing with it's next film. They kind of make them up as they go along. Case in point, the Phoenix plot point. They teased the Phoenix at the end of X2 with the actual bird form of the Phoenix. They probably thought then that X-Men 3 would be a retelling of the Phoenix saga. But was it? NO! Not even close. It wasn't even the main conflict of The Last Stand. It was like they only threw the Jean Grey/Phoenix thing in there because they had to. They have no clear vision what so ever.
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 8:03 AM
@HAILHYDRA-

Um the idea of a X-Men Days of Future Past movie has been talked about even before The Avengers
http://collider.com/richard-donner-laura-shuler-donner-interview-goonies-dave-broadway-deadpool-x-men-first-class-wonder-woman/
Jollem - 6/9/2014, 8:08 AM
dofp was so damn good
HAILHYDRA - 6/9/2014, 8:15 AM
@MrSotoMan. Ok. Why did First Class and The Wolverine do nothing to set up DOFP then?
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 8:16 AM
The funny thing is, I'm willing to see faults in movies I like, while a lot of Marvel fans can't admit those films have any issues at all. They seem to spend their timing nitpicking Fox/Sony/DC.

^^^^POINT POINT POINT!
MrSotoMan - 6/9/2014, 8:17 AM
@HAILHYDRA- Did it have to set up Days of Future Past? The Wolverine did set up Days of Future Past with the Trask Industries promos with Wolverine at the airport.

Not everything has to lead in to the next movie like Marvel Studios does, which is why First class doesn't. Like I said, they did want to do it, but didn't know how or what they could do with it if they did, it took time.
1 2 3

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.