COMICS: Will Eisner Comic Industry Award Winners 2012

COMICS: Will Eisner Comic Industry Award Winners 2012

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are considered the "Oscars" of the comic book industry. They are handed out each year in a gala ceremony at Comic-Con International: San Diego, the largest and oldest comics convention in the United States.

The awards were handed out on the evening of Friday the 13th, unlucky for some, lucky for the winners :) This was at the Indigo Ballroom at the Sand Diego Comic-Con - presented by Syfy. I know what you guys want to know - well, it was a year for Marvel. Marvel pulled in the most awards on the backs of "Daredevil" and "Criminal" - a great achievement especially considering how they were shut out of every award a few years ago. IDW did really well too. DC was left on the outskirts . . . (see below for the full break down).

An overview from Publishers Weekly - click here to go their article

Archaia grabbed three Eisner Awards for Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand—the book's artist Ramon Perez took home Eisners for best graphic book-new and best penciller and Eric Skillman won for the book’s design—at the 24th annual Will Eisner Comics Industry Awards, held at the San Diego Comic-con International last night. The winning graphic novel was based on a 30-year-old never-produced screenplay written by Henson and his collaborator Jerry Juhl.

Among the other book-prizes, Eisner Awards went to Darwyn Cooke for Richard Stark’s Parker: The Martini Edition (IDW), a combination edition of Cooke’s comics adaptations of Donald Westlake’s prose novels The Hunter and The Outfit; Jeff Jensen and Jonathan Case for The Green River Killer: A True Detective Story (Dark Horse); Shigeru Mizuki for Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths (D&Q), and Craig Thompson for best writer/artist for Habibi (Pantheon).

In addition, Art Speigelman’s MetaMaus (Pantheon) won an Eisner for best comics-related book. In an unusual tie in the best academic work category, Eisners were presented to both Charles Hatfield (briefly a comics reviewer here at PW) for Hand of Fire: the Comics Art of Jack Kirby (Univ. Press of Mississippi) and Ivan Brunetti’s Cartooning: Philosophy & Practice (Yale Univ. Press). And for kids and young adults, Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost (First Second) won for best publication for young adults; James Kochalka’s Dragon Puncher’s Island won for best publication for early readers; and Roger Langridge’s Snarked won the prize for best publication for kids. Tyler Crook, artist for Petrograd (Oni Press), was awarded the Russ Manning most promising newcomer award.

Best Short Story: 
"The Seventh," by Darwyn Cooke, in Richard Stark's Parker: The Martini Edition (IDW)

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): 
Daredevil #7, by Mark Waid, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series: 
Daredevil, by Mark Waid, Marcos Martin, Paolo Rivera, and Joe Rivera (Marvel)

Best Limited Series
Criminal: The Last of the Innocent, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Marvel Icon)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7): 
Dragon Puncher Island, by James Kochalka (Top Shelf)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12): 
Snarked, by Roger Langridge (kaboom!)

Best Publication for Young Adults (Ages 12-17): 
Anya's Ghost, by Vera Brosgol (First Second)

Best Anthology
: Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson (Dark Horse)

Best Humor Publication
: Milk & Cheese: Dairy Products Gone Bad, by Evan Dorkin (Dark Horse Books)

Best Digital Comic
: Battlepug, by Mike Norton,

Best Reality-Based Work
: Green River Killer: A True Detective Story, by Jeff Jensen and Jonathan Case (Dark Horse Books)

Best Graphic Album - New: 
Jim Hensons Tale of Sand, adapted by Ramon K. Perez (Archaia)

Best Graphic Album - Reprint: 
Richard Stark's Parker: The Martini Edition, by Darwyn Cooke (IDW)

Best Archival Collection/Project - Comic Strips: 
Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse vols. 1-2, by Floyd Gottfredson, edited by David Gerstein and Gary Groth (Fantagraphics)

Best Archival Collection/Project - Comic Books: 
Walt Simonson's The Mighty Thor Artist's Edition (IDW)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
: The Manara Library, vol. 1: Indian Summer and Other Stories, by Milo Manara with Hugo Pratt (Dark Horse Books)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material - Asia: 
Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths, by Shigeru Mizuki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Writer: 
Mark Waid, Irredeemable, Incorruptible (BOOM!); Daredevil (Marvel)

Best Writer/Artist
: Craig Thompson, Habibi (Pantheon)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: 
Ramón K. Pérez, Jim Henson's Tale of Sand (Archaia)

Best Cover Artist:
 Francesco Francavilla, Black Panther (Marvel); Lone Ranger, Lone Ranger/Zorro, Dark Shadows, Warlord of Mars (Dynamite); Archie Meets Kiss (Archie)

Best Coloring: 
Laura Allred, iZombie (Vertigo/DC); Madman All-New Giant-Size Super-Ginchy Special (Image)

Best Lettering
: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo (Dark Horse)

Best Comics-Related Journalism: 
The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon,

Best Educational/Academic Work (tie)
Cartooning: Philosophy & Practice, by Ivan Brunetti (Yale University Press)
Hand of Fire: The Comics Art of Jack Kirby, by Charles Hatfield (University Press of Mississippi)

Best Comics-Related Book: 
MetaMaus, by Art Spiegelman (Pantheon)

Best Publication Design: 
Jim Henson's Tale of Sand, designed by Eric Skillman (Archaia)

Hall of Fame
Judges' Choices: Rudolf Dirks, Harry Lucey
Bill Blackbeard, Richard Corben, Katsuhiro Otomo, Gilbert Shelton
DISCLAIMER: is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
Related Headlines
Latest Headlines
From The Web