Matthew Vaughn Says He Didn't Direct X-MEN: DOFP Because It Didn't Excite Him

Matthew Vaughn Says He Didn't Direct X-MEN: DOFP Because It Didn't Excite Him

Layer Cake and Kick-Ass director Matthew Vaughn is the man who many fans credit for finally doing the X-Men franchise justice with 2011's X-Men: First Class. In the following interview with Empire Magazine, the filmmaker reveals why he chose not to return for this movie...

Is X-Men: Days of Future Past in the right hands with Bryan Singer? While he's credited with kicking off the comic book movie craze, the director is also not so fondly remembered for paying a distinct lack of attention to the source material and the lacklustre Superman Returns. Matthew Vaughn meanwhile has delivered great movie after great movie, with X-Men: First Class hailed by some as the best X-Men movie yet. So, why didn't he return for the sequel? "It didn't excite me enough," he tells Empire Magazine. "The thing that was exciting about it was bringing all these actors together. What a cast! But I've worked with great actors and I just thought, 'I've got to do my own thing.'" That "own thing" would be the big screen adaptation of Mark Millar and Dave Gibbons' The Secret Service. "The script was great for X-Men, but I had Secret Service in my head. And this has always been Bryan's machine. It's come full circle."

The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST. The beloved characters from the original "X-Men" film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from "X-Men: First Class," in an epic battle that must change the past -- to save our future.


Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
James McAvoy and Patrick Stewart as Professor X
Michael Fassbender and Ian McKellen as Magneto
Jennifer Lawrence as Mystique
Halle Berry as Storm
Ellen Page as Kitty Pryde
Peter Dinklage as Bolivar Trask
Nicholas Hoult as Beast
Shawn Ashmore as Iceman
Omar Sy as Bishop
Daniel Cudmore as Colossus
Booboo Stewart as Warpath
Fan Bingbing as Blink
Adan Canto as Sunspot
Evan Peters as Quicksilver
Josh Helman as William Stryker
Lucas Till as Havok

RELEASE DATE: May 23rd, 2014
DISCLAIMER: is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
Related Headlines
Latest Headlines
From The Web