Review: DEADPOOL Is A Sexy, Hilarious, Blood-Soaked Blast - But It Won't Be For Everyone

Review: DEADPOOL Is A Sexy, Hilarious, Blood-Soaked Blast - But It Won't Be For Everyone

After a disastrous big screen debut in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, The Merc With a Mouth has finally been given his own solo movie. Find out what this casual fan of the character thought after the jump...

None of us ever really thought it would happen, but Deadpool did get his own movie, and it is everything you'd expect it to be. Now, while that's going to be great news for fans of the character, for casual viewers... maybe not so much. 

It's all here: breaking the fourth wall, a comic-faithful costume complete with expressive mask, insanely violent, quips galore, more pop culture references than you can shake a chimichanga at. Deadpool knows what its audience wants and it delivers - and then some. The thing is, if you're not prepared for the endless onslaught of gross-out gags, gratuitous nudity and at times quite sickening gore, you may grow tired of it pretty quickly.

I was, though, and I bloody loved it.

Sure, the movie is a tad obnoxious at times and it definitely goes out of its way to offend at every given opportunity, but there's one crucial factor that makes it all work where similarly juvenile fare will always fail: it's funny... like, really damn funny. We're talking an average of at least 2 giggles, chortles, or full-on guffaws every 5 minutes or so - and our leading man is to thank for pretty much all of it.



Ryan Reynolds was born to play this role (properly), and while watching him in action you'd have to imagine that if it was anyone else under the mask that it just wouldn't have worked nearly as well. He brings the laughs, but also some pathos and humanity to a character that, on paper at least, can be difficult to like. He also has great chemistry with his supporting cast, particularly - and most importantly - Morena Baccarin's Vanessa, who while somewhat underutilized does shines with what she has to work with. T.J. Miller also gets his share of chuckles as Wade's equally profane pal Weasel, and the token mutants (Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead) are good fun too - even if they are really only there to connect this to the wider X-universe. 

The most pleasant surprise is probably Ed Skrein as Ajax. He's not exactly what you'd call a well rounded villain, but he does a great job of making you hate him and sometimes that's enough.


The only real problem is the story. For a movie that clearly wants to push the envelope and take more chances than any other CBM that came before, it really does stick to the tried and tested formula. To be fair, it employs a very effective narrative structure that works brilliantly with Wade's penchant for chatting to the audience, but in terms of the actual plot, it's by the numbers all the way. It's not a deal breaker because everything else is so on point, but it would have been nice to see them try something different in that regard.

Deadpool is a sexy, hilarious blood-soaked blast from start to finish. It definitely won't be to everyone's taste, but if you're prepared to leave your PC hat at home and just go along with the mayhem on display you're bound to have fun. It's a little disappointing that more risks weren't taken with certain elements other than the obvious, but hey, there's always the sequel. So see this, then see it again - just don't bring your mother.


Posted By:
Mark Cassidy
Member Since 11/9/2008
Filed Under "Deadpool" 2/8/2016
DISCLAIMER: ComicBookMovie.com is protected under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and... [MORE]
121 Comments
1 2 3 4
spideymania26 - 2/8/2016, 7:44 PM
Good to hear
Bl00dwerK - 2/8/2016, 7:46 PM
See, my son and I ARE considering taking my mother!
Bl00dwerK - 2/9/2016, 12:53 AM
@Bl00dwerK - EX-wife. And, no, she can't go...
arrownoir - 2/8/2016, 7:46 PM
Of course it's not for everyone, it's rated R.
RorMachine - 2/8/2016, 7:49 PM
@arrownoir - I mean it's not for every adult.
MyloSteamwitz - 2/8/2016, 8:12 PM
@CaptainAmerica - No prize for 2nd.
marvel72 - 2/8/2016, 7:49 PM
Massive Deadpool fan,so I think i'll love it.My mum & Dad said the other day they wanted to see it,I better warn her in advance.
kalelhawj - 2/8/2016, 7:50 PM
This movie will likely not be a major BO haul but will likely be some fan favorite. GA will likely hate this movie since DP isn't a character that everyone can like.
Xenomorph - 2/8/2016, 11:32 PM
If I understand @kalelhawj correctly, then this movie will likely not bring in a major 'body odor' haul but will likely be a fan favorite; however, the 'state of Georgia' will likely hate it since the 'director of photography'* isn't a character for everyone ... I concur!


* Please note, I realize there's a way funnier interpretation of DP, but I ain't touching that with a ten-foot pole (pun intended)
Scorpion8125 - 2/8/2016, 7:51 PM
Geez, I wish I could post my reviews here.

Anyway, I LOVED this movie.

I am afraid it will flop though.

I loved Watchmen, and it just didn't make it with those "normal" non CB fans.

I so hope this Surprises everyone and warrants a sequel. Reynolds and Baccarin were both PERFECT in this.

GO SEE IT DAY ONE PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AlexdoxA - 2/8/2016, 7:52 PM
Nudity?!
JoeMomma29 - 2/8/2016, 7:52 PM
@AlexdoxA - yes plenty of full frontal male nudity.....I am sure you will be pleased.
DannyRand1225 - 2/8/2016, 7:58 PM
im so excited to see it, going Saturday!!
JamesMann - 2/8/2016, 7:58 PM
Deadpool won't flop if it has an opening like it's projected at $55-65mil. Plus, the foreign market will likely devour this as well. Add the good critical praise it's getting and it apparently being a movie for the fans and Fox has a bon-a-fide hit on their hands.
JoeMomma29 - 2/8/2016, 8:00 PM
@JamesMann - Lets hope that trends sticks....right now RT has dropped some.

I am excited for this movie and I really hope it is a hit for FOX and Reynolds.
JamesMann - 2/8/2016, 8:07 PM
@JoeMomma29 - It seems to be balancing out so far around the mid 80's which is waaaay more than I thought. Basing it off Blade I thought it would've ended up somewhere around the 50-59%

Yeah, Reynolds deserves a hit and it'll be great to have a new X-Men spin-off franchise.
SAMURAI36 - 2/8/2016, 8:37 PM
@JamesMann - It's been banned in China, remember? If it does over $400M, I'd be surprised.
KarolosPrime - 2/8/2016, 7:58 PM
Amazing can't wait to see this Thursday night!
StoneHex104 - 2/8/2016, 8:01 PM
I'm calling it:

Deadpool

Civil War

Suicide Squad

The best cbm of 2016


Sorry, MoS SUCKED, so I have low expectations for BvS, who knows maybe Snyder shuts me up? But for the time being nah.
RandalCabbage - 2/8/2016, 8:03 PM
@StoneHex104 - in your opinion?
thats great bruh.
dannramm113 - 2/8/2016, 8:07 PM
@StoneHex104 - glad to know what you thought of man of steel. My life became so much better now that i know your opinion of a 3 year old film that came out the same year as Bore 2 and Slattery vs Stark
StoneHex104 - 2/8/2016, 8:14 PM
@RandalCabbage I'm saying MoS didn't make me all pumped up, nor would I watch it again, so hopefully Snyder makes something better this time around, maybe he shuts people like me up?

Learn to [frick]ing read.

StoneHex104 - 2/8/2016, 8:19 PM
@dannramm113 I'm sorry, who are you again?

Typhoon20 - 2/8/2016, 8:19 PM
@StoneHex104 - You're forgetting one thing
imkennypowers - 2/8/2016, 9:14 PM
@StoneHex104 - "@RandalCabbage I'm saying MoS didn't make me all pumped up, nor would I watch it again"

To be fair, it's entirely possible for opinions to change after watching films/shows again. Sometimes our first impressions can be skewed for various reasons. For instance, one of the main reasons, expectations. Some folks can't/won't temper them, which can effect their opinions negatively & unfairly.
Case & point, the Avengers. It had so much hype/expectation I waited to watch it. (I did the same with Game of Thrones, it wasn't until season 1 was on Blu-Ray before I felt open-minded enough to give it a fair chance. And I got hooked. haha.) I didn't want to be disappointed if Avengers didn't meet/exceed the extremely high expectations & hype. When I finally saw it, I liked it a lot & thought it was good-great. Unfortunately, after watching it again, I didn't like it nearly as much & thought it was it was just decent-good. It was entertaining, but all the excitement & what made me like it so much more the 1st time was seeing the Avengers together. That excitement & "magic" wasn't there the 2nd time.
Conversely, two of my all-time favorite shows, Community and Parks & Rec., didn't give me great first impressions. The first season of P&R showed flashes of being good-great, but it wasn't until season 2 it really found it's groove & became the show I love. It took me a couple episodes to really get into & thoroughly enjoy Community. I honestly almost gave up on both series, I still recorded them, but got a few episodes behind on both. Then I decided to give them another shot and I'm glad I did, I love both shows so goddamn much. hahaha.

Point being, sometime you might watch MoS again & give another shot.
dannramm113 - 2/9/2016, 6:36 AM
@StoneHex104 - I'm me. which means im better than you
StoneHex104 - 2/9/2016, 8:23 PM
@dannramm113 If saying that makes you feel less insecure, by all means go ahead.
superherodevourer - 2/8/2016, 8:02 PM
The next two three days feel like two three years
StoneHex104 - 2/8/2016, 8:03 PM
@superherodevourer - Please, it will feel like a year until Civil War comes out :(
Starman - 2/9/2016, 4:35 AM
@superherodevourer - @StoneHex104 - the closer it gets to highly anticipated films, the longer it feels. Civil War feels about 6 months away, but once we get to the 3 week territory it'll feel like 2 years. The worst was The Force Awakens, one day felt like a lifetime.
RandalCabbage - 2/8/2016, 8:03 PM
Im psyched for this.
I rarely say that about a fox men movie.
Calculon - 2/8/2016, 8:06 PM
Tell me, is there Ryan Reynolds D in it? I just wanna know so I can, like, not look at those scenes. Ya know?
RorMachine - 2/8/2016, 8:08 PM
@Calculon - I think there's a few brief flashes. Far too brief if you ask me.
DannyRand1225 - 2/8/2016, 8:07 PM






BlackStar25 - 2/8/2016, 8:18 PM
@KurtWagner1225 - Collider and Schmoe finally got theirs up! Thanks bro!
Nomis - 2/8/2016, 8:09 PM
Never felt either here or there about the character so I hope this is just enjoyable enough to please his die hard fans and at least entertaining enough for the general audience to make it big enough for at least a trilogy of movies.

BodieBroadus - 2/8/2016, 8:21 PM
@Nomis - I'm not a fan of the character either. Meta humour that hinges on winking at the audience and constant references isn't my thing.

But the action at least looks fun, I reckon I'll still enjoy this one.
Dunejedi - 2/8/2016, 9:42 PM
@Nomis - you're not psyched for Colossus? He looks fanfriggintastic.
shadearts - 2/8/2016, 8:10 PM
Wouldn't it be crazy if the studios lesser known not as popular characters movies do better or more acclaimed than there bigger characters like DC's Sucide Squad to Batman V Superman DOJ, Fox's Deadpool to Xmen Apocalypse, and Marvel's Dr Strange to Captain America CW
GrilledPopcorn - 2/8/2016, 8:12 PM
Well it's rated R so no it won't be for everyone.
1 2 3 4

Please log in to post comments.

Don't have an account?
Please Register.